Are After Eights Gluten-Free?

After Eights, are a brand of mint chocolate confectionery that was created by Graham Edwards Rowntree and Company Limited in the UK.

The popular brand has been delighting chocolate lovers since 1962. It’s usually consumed as a “refreshing indulgence” for the perfect ending to any evening.

They are now manufactured by Nestlé since its acquisition of Rowntree in 1988.

Let’s find out if this mint chocolate confectionery is gluten-free. Last updated: December 24, 2021


Are After Eights Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: NO


After Eight Mints

*After Eight are dark mint thins filled with peppermint flavoured fondant cream in a 300 g box made with added Glucose Syrup (from Wheat and/or Corn). Even though the glucose syrup may come from wheat, the Celiac Foundation states that due to the extensive processing to create the syrup, this ingredient can be considered gluten free. However; multiple commenters mentioned having reactions to After Eights, so if you have a gluten allergy or Celiac Disease, these may not be safe for you.


After Eight Products

  • AFTER EIGHT (300 g)

  • AFTER EIGHT Bar (40 g)

  • AFTER EIGHT Straws (90 g)

  • AFTER EIGHT Skyline Tin (400 g)

After Eight Ingredients

Sugar, Cocoa Mass, Glucose Syrup (from Wheat and/or Corn), Milk Ingredients, Cocoa Butter, Palm and Vegetable Oil, Sunflower Lecithin, Natural Flavour, Citric Acid, Invertase.
May Contain peanuts and tree nuts.

For more information on After Eights, head over to the website here:

6 thoughts on “Are After Eights Gluten-Free?”

    • Thanks for your comment Monique! Apologies on the delays here, but we’ve updated the article to reflect this information.

  1. You should update this post with the correct information and save other people the chore of fact checking your work. Thanks.

  2. Fine if you can eat it.maybe also point out that some with celiac like myself cannot touch anything corn derived even gluten free.

  3. I have celiac disease so after reading that After Eights are “gluten free” I thought “yaaayyyy” there is something that I love that I don’t have to do without. However…. after eating some and feeling not too well for two days now I decided to look on the box and saw the word “wheat”. Maybe some celiacs don’t have a problem with this but it has become obvious to me now that not all of us will be ok with it. I don’t know which Celiac outfit said it would be ok but NO WHEAT is the only ok for many of us.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.