Are Airheads Gluten Free?

Airheads are a brand of candy and gums that are produced by Dutch-Italian company Perfetti Van Melle in Erlanger, Kentucky.

They’ve been a favorite among kids and adults alike since its start in 1986.

Let’s find out if they are gluten-free

Are Airheads Gluten-Free?

YES* (Except the ALL Xtremes Products – see below)

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Airhead Candy Bars

Airhead Blue Raspberry

*Airheads are available in a variety of flavors, most of which are gluten-free. Be cautious of the any AirHead Xtreme product, as these have been clearly stated on the website as not being gluten-free.

We know gluten free statements can be a little confusing.  The FDA has established a threshold of 20ppm of gluten for a gluten free food.  Foods below that level are safe for folks with Celiac disease to enjoy. In order to meet FDA regulations for “gluten free,” a finished product must have less than 20 ppm gluten. When tested, our Airheads products (Airheads, but not Airheads Xtremes) showed no gluten in the products at all. Airheads Xtremes products, however, do contain gluten. Our Airheads Xtremes are made in the back of our production facility, on a separate production line.

Because Xtremes are manufactured in the same plant, however, we do indicate on our packaging that are Airheads “made in a facility that processes wheat flour.

List of AirHead Products

The following products are safe to be consumed if you are sensitive to gluten. They have been tested and the results have “shown no gluten in the products at all.”

  • Airheads
  • Airheads Bites
  • Airheads Soft Filled Bites
  • Airheads Gummies
  • Airheads Gum

The following AriHead Products are not gluten-free:

  • Airheads Xtremes – AVOID
  • Airheads Xtremes Bites – AVOID
  • Airheads Xtremes Sourfuls – AVOID

AirHeads Original Bar Ingredients

Sugar, Corn Syrup, Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Modified Food Starch (Corn), Palm Oil; contains less than 2% of: Citric Acid, Water, Artificial Flavors, Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 6, Yellow 5.

Nutritional Facts

Source -A bar of AirHeads contains 60 calories. This consists of 15 grams of carbs (11 grams of sugar), 0 grams of protein, 0 grams of sodium and 0g of fat

For more information on AirHeads including detailed info on each product, ingredients, and nutritional facts, check out the website here:


1 thought on “Are Airheads Gluten Free?”

  1. FIG food is good app says that anything with only wheat starch is gluten free and tagged as allowed. The airhead extreme belts are made with wheat flour and has a gram of protein so it’s tagged as avoided and negatively gluten free noted as you cannot eat. The other formats of extremes are only made with wheat starch and has no protein so it’s tagged as allowed and positively gluten free noted as you can eat. So you see wheat starch isn’t considered foreign to the GF empire.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.