Are Baby Ruth Gluten Free?

Baby Ruth is an American candy bar made of peanuts, caramel, and milk chocolate-flavored nougat, covered in compound chocolate. It is distributed by the Ferrara Candy Company, a subsidiary of Ferrero.

It is described by as Ferrero – source:

The deliciousness of dry roasted peanuts, rich caramel, and smooth nougat.

Ferrero also produces Ferrero RocherKinder SurpriseKinder JoyKinder Bueno & Nutella

Let’s find out if this American candy bar is gluten-free.

Are Baby Ruth Bars Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: NO


While the Baby Ruth bar ingredients list does not contain any gluten loaded ingredients, the FAQs on the official Baby Ruth website state that the candy bar is not gluten free. Possibly due to cross contamination or some other ingredient change. Therefore if you have Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy, these candy bars are not safe to consume.

baby ruth chocolate bar

Photo: Evan Amos

Other gluten free chocolate candies:


Sugar, Corn Syrup, Roasted peanuts, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel and Coconut Oil, Nonfat Milk, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Cocoa Glycerin and Less Than 1% of: dextrose, whey, salt, artificial and natural flavors, soy lecithin, soybean oil, carrageenan, TBHQ and citric acid (to preserve freshness), lactic acid.


Nutritional Information

Each 53.5g bar contains 260 calories. This consists of 35g carbs, 3g protein, 12g fat, and 0.13g sodium.

For more information on Baby Ruth head over to the official website here:

2 thoughts on “Are Baby Ruth Gluten Free?”

  1. On Ferreras website in the Q&A for Baby Ruth, they specifically state that they are NOT gluten free. So there is apparently cross contamination. I would change your recommendation for Celiacs to try them.

    • Hi there, thanks for the heads up! They must have updated their processes when they recently updated the recipe. We will update.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.