Are Branston Pickles Gluten Free?

Branston is a British food brand best known for the original Branston Pickle which is named after a village in Staffordshire.

Each year 17 million jars of Branston Pickle are sold in the UK.

The Branston product range now includes mayonnaise, tomato ketchup, brown sauce, salad cream, and baked beans.

Let’s find out if this brand of pickle is gluten-free.

Are Branston Pickles Gluten Free?

The Answer is: No

Branston Pickle

Despite popular belief, Branston Pickles are not gluten-free.

Branston Pickle is made from a variety of diced vegetables, including swede (rutabaga), carrots, onions and cauliflower pickled in a sauce made from vinegar, tomato, apple and spices.

Here is where the problem exists, the Barley Malt Vinegar contains malt which is derived from the gluten-containing grain barley.

It is, therefore, safe to say that this popular brand of pickle must be avoided as it could be detrimental to your health if you are sensitive to gluten.

Products

  • Original Pickle
  • Small Chunk Pickle
  • Smooth Pickle
  • Small Chunk Squeezy Pickle
  • Smooth Squeezy Pickle
  • Sweet Chilli Flavoured Pickle
  • Beetroot Flavoured Pickle

Ingredients

Vegetables in Variable Proportions (52%) (Carrot, Rutabaga, Onion, Cauliflower), Sugar, Barley Malt Vinegar, Water, Spirit Vinegar, Tomato Purée, Date Paste (Dates, Rice Flour), Salt, Apple Pulp, Modified Maize Starch, Colour (Sulphite Ammonia Caramel), Onion Powder, Concentrated Lemon Juice, Spices, Colouring Food (Roasted Barley Malt Extract), Herb and Spice Extracts – source

Nutritional Information

Every 100g of Branston Original Pickle contains 157 calories. This consists of 36g carbs, 0.5g protein, and 2.1g fibre and 3.5g salt.

For more information on all of Branston Pickle products head over to bringoutthebranston.co.uk

2 thoughts on “Are Branston Pickles Gluten Free?”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.