Bugles are a corn chip produced by Walkers, a British snack food manufacturer mainly operating in the United Kingdom and Ireland. Walkers was founded in 1948 in Leicester, England by Henry Walker, and in 1989 was acquired by Lay’s owner, Frito-Lay, a division of PepsiCo.
Bugles are also produced by General Mills in the United States with a slightly different recipe. Be sure to read below so you can ensure the Bugles you buy are safe to consume if you have Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy/intolerance. This article was last updated: December 31, 2019
Question: Are Bugles gluten free?
*Please check your packet as US & UK recipes may differ. Although Bugles contain No preservatives, No artificial colours, No MSG and are suitable for vegetarians, and they don’t directly include gluten ingredients, they are, unfortunately, produced in a factory which also handles wheat & barley.
UPDATE: In the United States, and other markets where General Mills’ Bugles are sold, the chips have different ingredients and the allergens are labeled as: “May contain Wheat Ingredients”. Unfortunately this means we believe that bugles are NOT gluten free in the United States. If this information changes or General Mills updates the website, we’ll post another update.
UK – Nutritional Information on the Walkers website.
US – Nutritional information on the General Mills website.
(UK) Ingredients of Bugles Cheese:
Maize, Sunflower Oil, Cheese Seasoning [Whey Powder (contains Milk), Flavourings (contains Milk), Onion Powder, Yeast Extract, Cheese Powder (from Milk), Garlic Powder, Colour (Paprika Extract)], Sugar, Salt, Raising Agent (Sodium Bicarbonate)
(US) Ingredients of Bugles Original:
DEGERMED YELLOW CORN MEAL, VEGETABLE OIL (COCONUT AND/OR PALM KERNEL), SUGAR, SALT, BAKING SODA. FRESHNESS PRESERVED BY BHT.
MAY CONTAIN MILK AND WHEAT INGREDIENTS