Are Crunch Bars Gluten Free?

Crunch Bar is a chocolate bar produced by the Ferrara Candy Company, a subsidiary of Ferrero. Ferrero also produces well-known brands such as Ferrero Rocher, Nutella, and Tic Tacs. Crunch used to be Nestle’s best selling candy bar, but in January 2018, Nestle sold the rights to Ferrero.

Crunch Bar, formerly ‘Nestle Crunch’,  is very similar to another product Krackel bar, which was introduced by The Hershey Company.

Let’s find out if this milk chocolate and crisped rice bar is gluten-free.

 

Are Crunch Chocolate Bars Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: NO

 

No, Crunch Bars are NOT gluten-free. According to the official ingredients listed on the Crunch Bar website, the product may contain wheat. Barley Malt is also listed under the Crisped Rice ingredient, so this product is confirmed not gluten free. 

Crunch Bars MAY contain wheat which we can assume is due to the fact the bars are produced in an environment which results in potential contamination of wheat.

Avoid Crunch Chocolate Bars if you are sensitive to gluten or suffer from any form of celiac disease. Consuming Crunch could be detrimental to your health if your body can’t tolerate gluten.

crunch bar ingredients

Photo: Crunch Bar website

Ingredients

MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, COCOA BUTTER, CHOCOLATE, NONFAT MILK, MILKFAT, LACTOSE, SOY LECITHIN, NATURAL FLAVOR), CRISPED RICE (RICE FLOUR, SUGAR, BARLEY MALT, SALT).

CONTAINS: MILK AND SOY. MAY CONTAIN PEANUTS, NUTS AND WHEAT.

Nutritional Information

Every bar of Crunch consumed contains 230 calories. This consist of 29g carbs, 2g protein, 12g fat and 600mg of sodium – source

For more information on Crunch Chocolate Bars go to crunchbar.com

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.