Are Drumstick Lollies Gluten Free?

Drumstick Lollies are made by Swizzels.

That’s a good thing since Swizzels strives to ensure that everyone can enjoy their delicious sweets, including gluten-intolerant customers. That’s why many classic Swizzels sweets are gluten-free.

You can even get sweet hampers with gluten-free sweets.

Therefore, Drumstick Lolly sweets have gluten-free ingredients, making them Celiac friendly. These sweets have a raspberry and milk flavor. They also have a unique combination of a lollipop and a chew on a stick.

Are Drumstick Lollies Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES


As of October 2020, these Swizzels Lollies products show the ‘Suitable for Coeliacs’ label:

  • Drumstick Lollies Original

  • Drumstick Lollies Original Mega

  • Drumstick Chews Original

  • Drumstick Lollies Bubblegum Mega

  • Drumstick Lollies Bubblegum


Swizzels includes a ‘Suitable for Coeliacs’ graphic on certain product pages to confirm the lollies are gluten free.

suitable for coeliacs swizzels drumstick lollies

Photo: Swizzels


The ingredients in this sweet include:

  • glucose syrup
  • vegetable oil
  • sugar
  • acidity regulator (citric acid)
  • emulsifier (glycerol monostearate)
  • gelatin
  • colors (anthocyanins)

Those ingredients give you the following nutrient content per 100g:

  • energy: 1,753 KJ
  • energy: 414 kcal
  • fat: 6.3 g
  • saturated fat: 4.2 g
  • carbohydrate/ sugars: 87.9 g
  • protein: 0.5 g
  • salt: 0.1 g

But Drumstick Lollies aren’t unique.

An interesting fact is that the gluten-free status generally applies to most basic, plain old lollipops. It may not apply to lollipops with special fillings like bubblegum (not all gum and bubble are gluten-free). 

Related: Are Caramel Apple Pops Gluten Free?

The same applies to plain, hard candy mints. Most spearmints and peppermints are gluten-free. But, it may not apply to mint-flavored candies.

On the contrary, candies that contain wafers are sure to contain gluten.

Examples include Crunch Bars, Kit Kats, and Crispy M&Ms. The only exception is the candy that has a rice wafer, but such candy is rare.

Learn more about Drumstick here:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.