Are Funyuns Gluten Free?

Funyuns is the brand name of an onion-flavored corn snack introduced in the United States in 1969, and invented by Frito-Lay employee George Bigner. Funyuns consist primarily of cornmeal, ring-shaped using an extrusion process, representing the shape and texture of fried onion rings.

Anyway, let’s answer your question:

Are Funyuns gluten free?

The answer is: Yes

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

According to Frito-Lay, 2 flavours do not contain gluten Ingredients:

  • FUNYUNS® Flamin’ Hot® Onion Flavored Rings
  • FUNYUNS® Onion Flavored Rings

Funyuns Chips

Funyuns may be manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Individuals who are sensitive to gluten should take these factors into consideration.

This information only applies to FUNYUNS® that has been made in the USA.


Enriched Corn Meal (Corn Meal, Ferrous Sulfate, Niacin, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Vegetable Oil (Sunflower, Corn, and/or Canola Oil), and Less than 2% of the Following: Salt, Corn Starch, Sugar, Corn Flour, Buttermilk Powder, Maltodextrin (Made from Corn), Onion Powder, Monosodium Glutamate, Hydrolyzed Corn Protein, Dextrose, Garlic Powder, Natural Flavors (Including Natural Onion Flavor), and Gum Arabic..

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.