Are Haribo Gummy Bears Gluten Free?

Haribo is a German confectionery company founded in 1920 by Johannes “Hans” Riegel, Sr. It began in Kessenich, Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia; the name is an acronym formed from Hans Riegel, Bonn. The company created the first gummy candy in 1922 in the form of little gummy bears called Gummibärchen.

Are Haribo gummy bears gluten free?

Answer: No*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

*It was challenging to find concise information about Haribo gummy bears and if they are gluten-free.

Here’s what we do know:

Haribo Gummy Bears contain glucose which is derived from corn or wheat, though they do not directly contain wheat. Haribo Gummy Bears are listed on many websites and forums as not being gluten-free. It is best to avoid these gummy bears, and as always pay careful attention to the label and if in doubt consider calling the customer helpline number for more info.

Haribo Gummy Bears

Nutritional information

There are 140 calories in 17 pieces serving of Haribo Gummy Bears. Calorie breakdown: 0% fat, 94% carbs, 6% protein. More details here.


Corn syrup, sugar, gelatin, dextrose, citric acid, starch, artificial and natural flavors, fractionated coconut oil, carnuba wax, beeswax coating, artificial colors (yellow 5, red 40, blue 1).

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.