Are Corn Flakes Gluten Free?

Corn flakes, or cornflakes, are a breakfast cereal made by toasting flakes of corn (maize). The cereal was created by John Harvey Kellogg in 1894 as a food that he thought would be healthy for the patients of the Battle Creek Sanitarium in Michigan where he was superintendent.

Corn flakes are a packaged cereal product formed from small toasted flakes of corn, usually served cold with milk and sometimes sugar.

Question: Are Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Gluten Free

Answer: NO (contains barley malt)

Kellog's Cornflakes

The breakfast cereal proved popular among the patients and the Kellogg Company (Kellogg’s) was set up by Dr. John’s brother, Will Kellogg, to produce corn flakes for the wider public. A patent for the process was granted in 1896.

Since their original production, the plain flakes have been flavoured with salt, sugar and barley malt, and many successive products with additional ingredients have been manufactured such as sugar frosted flakes and honey & nut corn flakes.

Corn flakes are produced in significant quantities at the Trafford Park factory in Manchester, England, which is the largest cereal factory in the world

Nutritional information can be found on the Kellog’s website.

Ingredients:

Corn (88%), sugar, salt, barley malt extract, vitamins (vitamin C, vitamin E, niacin, riboflavin, thiamin, folate), minerals (iron, zinc oxide).

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.