Rice Krispies is a breakfast cereal that is produced and marketed by Kellogg’s.
You will have most likely come across other brands of Rice Krispies online or at your local supermarket. In this review we will focus on Kellogg’s Rice Krispies and if they’re gluten free.
It is the top-selling brand of rice krispies on the market, so let’s find out if they are gluten free:
Question: Are Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Gluten Free?
The Answer is: No
Rice Krispies are made from crisped rice which is free of gluten, however, despite popular belief, Rice Krispies are not gluten free.
Malt flavoring is made from barley which is a whole grain that is closely related to wheat, therefore it contains gluten and should be avoided if you have celiac disease or are following a gluten-free diet.
Rice Krispies contain rice, sugar, salt, malt flavoring, iron, ascorbic acid (vitamin C), alpha tocopherol acetate (vitamin E), niacinamide, vitamin A palmitate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin (vitamin B2), thiamin hydrochloride (vitamin B1), folic acid, vitamin B12 (as cyanocobalamin), and vitamin D.
Every 100g Kellogg’s Rice Krispies consumed contains 387 calories. This consist of 86g carbs, 7g protein, 1.2g fat, 2g fibre and 1g of salt – source
- In 1963, The Rolling Stones recorded a short song for a Rice Krispies television advertisement.
- The “Snap, Crackle and Pop” slogan was in use by 1939 when the cereal was advertised as staying “crackly crisp in milk or cream…not mushy!” with claims that the cereal would remain floating (without sinking to the bottom of the bowl) even after 2 hours in milk.
- Rice Krispies cereal has a long advertising history, with the elf cartoon characters Snap, Crackle and Pop touting the brand.
For more information on Kellogg’s Rice Krispies head over to the official Kellogg’s website below: