Are M & Ms Gluten Free?

M&M’s are “colorful button-shaped chocolates”, each of which has the letter “m” printed in lower case on one side, consisting of a candy shell surrounding a filling which varies depending upon the variety of M&M’s.

The original candy had a milk chocolate filling which, upon introducing other variations, was branded as the “plain” variety. “Peanut” M&M’s, which feature a peanut coated in milk chocolate, and finally a candy shell, were the first variation to be introduced, and they remain a regular variety.

Numerous other variations have been introduced, some of which are regular widespread varieties (such as “peanut butter”, “almond”, “pretzel”, “crispy”, “dark chocolate”, and “caramel”) while others are limited in duration or geographic availability.

M&M’s is the flagship product of the Mars Wrigley Confectionery division of Mars, Incorporated.

The question: are M and Ms gluten free

Answer: YES! (with exceptions*)

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

The M&M Pretzel flavor and M&M Crispy flavor are NOT gluten-free – avoid.

All the other flavors of M&M including the popular peanut M&Ms are gluten-free.

Note: M&Ms may be made in conditions where there could be cause for contamination, so always check the label.

Chocolate M&Ms

Peanut M&Ms are gluten free

Always check the label on M&Ms before purchasing and look out for stated warnings on the packaging.

Nutritional Information

M&M’S® Milk Chocolate Ingredients

milk chocolate (sugar, chocolate, skim milk, cocoa butter, lactose, milkfat, soy lecithin, salt, artificial flavor), sugar, cornstarch, less than 1% – corn syrup, dextrin, coloring (includes blue 1 lake, yellow 6, red 40, yellow 5, blue 1, red 40 lake, blue 2 lake, yellow 6 lake, blue 2), gum acacia. contains milk and soy. may contain peanuts.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.