Are Maynards Wine Gums Gluten Free?

Maynards-Bassetts Wine Gums are one of Britain’s most recognisable sweets, selling on shelves for more than 100 years.

Wine gums are chewy, firm pastille-type sweets similar to gumdrops without the sugar coating, originating from the United Kingdom.

First launched by Charles Gordon Maynard in 1909, these chewy fruit-flavoured treats come in a selection of flavours including strawberry, orange, and blackcurrant.

The unique and distinctive flavours have become a staple part of the UK confectionery market where they are today’s leading fruit sweet. This success was built upon in 2001 with the launch of Maynards Wine Pastilles.

Let’s find out if these popular fruity sweets are gluten-free?

Are Maynards Wine Gums Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: NO*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Maynards Bassetts Wine Gums

*According to the Maynard’s Bassett’s product information, Wine Gums may Contain Wheat. Whilst they don’t appear to include wheat as a direct ingredient, this allergy advice could be due to cross-contamination. Therefore Wine Gums should be avoided if you are sensitive to gluten.


Glucose Syrup (contains Sulphites), Sugar, Starch, Gelatine, Acids (Malic Acid, Acetic Acid), Colours (Anthocyanins, Vegetable Carbon, Paprika Extract, Lutein, Curcumin), Flavourings, Vegetable Oils (Palm Kernel, Coconut, Sunflower), Glazing Agent (Carnauba Wax).

Nutritional Facts

100g of wine gums contain around 329 calories. They also contain 4.8 of protein, 76g of carbohydrates, 0.2g of fat, and 0.03g of Sodium.

2 thoughts on “Are Maynards Wine Gums Gluten Free?”

  1. I believe the sugar is sourced from wheat which could be gluten free; however, the potential inclusion of lingering unconverted gluten remains.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.