Jaffa Cakes were introduced to the UK by McVitie and Price in 1927 and named after the Jaffa oranges.
Mcvities Jaffa Cake, know as “the irresistible chocolatey-orange rascal” has a distinctive look and taste that consists of layers of Genoise sponge, a layer of orange-flavoured jam and a coating of chocolate.
Other manufacturers and supermarkets can make variations of “Jaffa Cakes” due to the fact that McVitie failed to claim the trademark.
In this review, we will particularly focus on the Mcvities brand of Jaffa Cake. Let’s find out if they are gluten-free
Are Mcvities Jaffa Cakes Gluten-Free?
The Answer is: No
Mcvities Jaffa contains eggs, milk, soya, and wheat and essentially is not gluten-free because of gluten grain, wheat.
If you’re sensitive to gluten, we recommend you avoid Mcvities Jaffa Cakes at all cost because of the wheat content. Nonetheless just because you are unable to consume this brand of Jaffa Cakes, doesn’t mean that you should miss out. A variant of this cake, Kelkin Gluten Free Jaffa Cakes are a great choice and alternative to Mcvities and are ideal for you if you have Celiac Disease.
Each cake (12.2g) contains 46 calories, 8.7 grams of carbs, 0.6 grams of protein, 1.0 grams of fat, 0.03 grams of salt and 0.3 grams of fibre.
Glucose-Fructose Syrup, Plain Chocolate (19%) [Sugar, Cocoa Mass, Vegetable Fats (Palm, Shea), Butter Oil (Milk), Cocoa Butter, Emulsifiers (Soya Lecithin, E476), Natural Flavouring], Sugar, Flour (Wheat Flour, Calcium, Iron, Niacin, Thiamin), Whole Egg, Water, Dextrose, Concentrated Orange Juice (8% Orange Juice Equivalent), Glucose Syrup, Vegetable Oils (Sunflower, Palm), Humectant (Glycerine), Gelling Agent (Pectin), Acid (Citric Acid), Raising Agents (Ammonium Bicarbonate, Disodium Diphosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dried Whole Egg, Acidity Regulator (Sodium Citrates), Natural Orange Flavouring, Colour (Curcumin), Emulsifier (Soya Lecithin)