Are McVitie’s Penguin Gluten Free?

McVitie’s Penguin was first launched in 1932 and has become a British classic. This famous chocolate-covered biscuit bar is a popular occurrence in lunch boxes and biscuit tins across the UK, and is the perfect lunch or teatime snack.

McVitie’s Penguin has grown from a popular British classic to now becoming  popular with customers in United States of America (USA), Canada, Germany, France, Netherlands, Austria, Singapore, Italy and Spain.

Let find out if this chocolate-covered biscuit bar is gluten free.

 

Are Penguin Biscuits Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: NO

 

One of the key ingredient used to make McVities Penguin is wheat. If you are sensitive to gluten or suffer from any form of Celiac Disease it is advised that you avoid McVities Penguin Biscuits.

 

McVitie's Penguin

Photo: McVitie’s UK

 

Ingredients

Milk Chocolate (29%) [Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Cocoa Mass, Dried Skimmed Milk, Dried Whey (Milk), Butter Oil (Milk), Vegetable Fats (Sal and/or Shea, Palm), Emulsifiers (Soya Lecithin, E476), Natural Flavouring], Flour (Wheat Flour, Calcium, Iron, Niacin, Thiamin), Sugar, Vegetable Oil (Palm), Glucose-Fructose Syrup, Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder, Raising Agents (Ammonium Bicarbonate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Natural Flavouring, Salt.

Nutritional Information

Every 100g of Penguin consumed contains 512 calories. This consist of 62.5g carbs, 5.2g protein, 27.1g fat, 2.5g fibre and 0.23g of salt.

For more information on McVities Penguin head over to mcvities.co.uk/products/penguin

SEE ALSO – Are Celebrations Gluten Free?

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.