Are Mentos Gluten-Free?

Mentos is an international brand of mints by Perfetti Van Melle that is available in more than 130 countries worldwide. Mentos produce a wide range of products that include gum, mints, and chewy mints to help you “Stay Fresh!” all day long.

First produced in the Netherlands in 1948, Mentos are now available in almost every grocery store and gas station the world over.

Though in recent years, these minty treats have also become rather notorious for their use in “Mentos Coke Rockets“… But let’s stick to finding out whether we Coeliacs can eat them.


Are Mentos Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES and NO*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

All Mentos products in the United States contain wheat glucose syrup, so they are not gluten free. However; every other Mentos website we found outside of the US advertised Mentos as gluten free and the glucose syrup was shown to be derived from corn.

These include Mentos International websites for:

And many other Mentos brands in regions around the world.

Therefore we can confirm that Mentos is NOT gluten free in the United States due to the wheat glucose syrup, but Mentos are gluten free in other regions of the world such as Australia, the UK, Canada, and more. We recommend always checking the label and searching for the Mentos website in your country to find out more information about ingredients and allergens.

Mentos Mint Candies

*According to the Mentos Australia website FAQ section, all flavors of Mentos Candies and Gum do not contain gluten.

Do avoid the Spearmint Gum and Mentos Choco which may contain gluten. Mentos recommend you take a look at the back of each Mentos pack, before purchase.

You can see a full list of all the Mentos products here:

Mentos Ingredients

Mint flavored Mentos – sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, rice starch, natural flavors, gum arabic, sucrose esters of fatty acids, gellan gum, carnauba wax, and beeswax.

Fruit-flavored Mentos – sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, citric acid, fruit juices from concentrate (strawberry, orange, lemon) (1%), rice starch, gum arabic, natural flavors, sucrose esters of fatty acids, gellan gum, carnauba wax, colors (beta-carotene, beetroot red), and beeswax.

Nutritional Facts:

For Nutritional Facts on each product click here

For more information on Mentos and all their products make, check out their website here:

2 thoughts on “Are Mentos Gluten-Free?”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.