Are Milk Duds Gluten Free?

Milk Duds are a caramel candy, covered with a confectionery coating made from cocoa and vegetable oil and sold in a distinctive yellowish-orange box. They are manufactured by The Hershey Company.

The word “Milk” in the name refers to a large amount of milk in the product; the use of “dud” came about because the original aim of having a perfectly round piece was found to be impossible.

So is this unperfect round piece of chocolate gluten-free… Let’s find out:

Are Milk Duds Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES

Milk Duds

Milk Duds are labelled gluten-free by The Hershey Company, although this hasn’t been independently certified.

According to The Hershey Company, the manufacturer behind Milk Duds, all varieties are gluten-free

Any food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain the protein from wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticale, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods, or, if such grain is present, the level of such gluten protein has been reduced to less than 20 parts per million.

Therefore they should be safe if you are sensitive to gluten.

Nutritional Facts

Each 141 gram (5oz) pack of Milk Duds contains 170 calories, 3.5 grams of saturated fat, 21 grams of sugar and 0.100 grams of sodium.

Milk Duds ingredients

Corn Syrup, Sugar, Palm Oil, Nonfat Milk, Dextrose, Vegetable Oil (Palm, Shea, Sunflower and/or Safflower Oil), Chocolate, Contains 2% or Less of Brown Sugar, Whey (Milk), Mono- and Diglycerides, Sodium Bicarbonate, Milk Fat, Salt, Resinous Glaze, Soy Lecithin, Tapioca Dextrin, Vanillin, Artificial Flavor.

For more information on the varieties of Milk Duds, nutritional information and more check out this web page: https://www.hersheys.com/en_us/our-brands/milk-duds.html

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.