Is Milky Way Gluten Free?

The Milky Way bar is a chocolate-covered confectionery bar manufactured and distributed by the Mars confectionery company.

The Milky Way was created by Frank C. Mars and originally manufactured in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Since their creation, these little bars of chocolate have become popular children’s treats all over the world.

With kid’s asking for these bars whenever their parents walk into convenience stores or supermarkets, it’s important to know whether they’re a safe snack for Coeliacs and the gluten-sensitive.


Are Milky Way Bar gluten-free?

The Answer is: NO*


Milky Way Bars (Uk & USA versions)

*Both US and EU variants of Milky Way chocolate bars contain barley malt extract which is not GF and the glucose syrup may contain wheat. It is therefore not ideal for those who are gluten intolerant and suffer from celiac disease.

Milky Way is made of nougat topped with caramel and covered with milk chocolate and is very similar to the Mars Bar but with a slightly milkier taste and less-dense nougat.



Milk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, skim milk, chocolate, lactose, milkfat, soy lecithin, artificial flavor), corn syrup, sugar, hydrogenated palm kernel oil and/or palm oil, skim milk, less than 2% – milkfat, cocoa powder processed with alkali, malted barley, lactose, salt, egg whites, chocolate, artificial flavor.

Nutritional Facts

Each 52.2g bar of Milky Way contains 240 calories, 2g of protein, 37g of carbs, 9g of fat and 0.75g of sodium.


More about Milky Way

Want to learn more about Milky Way Candy? Check out these official resources.

View official ingredients for the Milky Way US version on HEB:

Milky Way Bar Instagram:

2 thoughts on “Is Milky Way Gluten Free?”

    • Can you please provide a link to the website page that you are seeing that on Ron. I just searched and was only able to find a Milky Way Candy Instagram with no information of the ingredients. Thanks


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.