Are Quality Street Gluten-Free?

Quality Street is known for its tinned box which contains an assortment of milk and dark chocolates and toffees.

It was first manufactured by Mackintosh in West Yorkshire, England, in 1936.  Today it is owned and manufactured by Nestlé.

Quality Street has been one of the nation’s favourite twist wrapped assortments for 80 years.

Let find out if they are gluten-free…

Are Quality Street Chocolates Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: YES*


Quality Street Box

Quality Street chocolates do not contain wheat, barley, oats, rye or any added gluten. They are gluten-free, making them a safe choice for those who are sensitive to gluten or suffer from Celiac Disease.

Quality Street is available in a variety of formats to suit many different sharing and gifting occasions, ranging from cartons to tins which include favorites such as Simply Strawberry Delights and the Giant Purple One.

According to Nestle, the following products are gluten-free:

  • All Quality Street Sweets
  • Quality Street Orange Matchmakers Box
  • Quality Street Mint Matchmakers Box
  • Quality Street Honeycomb Matchmakers Box
  • Quality Street Salted Caramel Matchmakers Box

In this review of we will be specifically referring to All Quality Street Sweets.

List of Quality Street Flavors

There 12 types of sweet:

Toffee Penny: An original Mackintosh’s toffee the size of an old fashioned English penny (hence the name).

Toffee Finger: A long, thin sweet; like a little finger. It is solid toffee wrapped in a layer of milk chocolate.

Toffee Deluxe: A delicious chocolate-covered toffee.

Caramel Swirl: A circular milk chocolate with a liquid caramel centre.

Milk Choc Block: This is a block of tasty chocolate.

Fudge: Chocolate coated fudge.

Coconut Eclair: If you like coconut then this is the one for you.

Orange Chocolate Crunch: Little pieces of crystallized orange in chocolate.

Strawberry Delight: Chocolate filled with strawberry cream.

Orange Creme: Dark chocolate covering a white, orange-flavored interior.

The Green Triangle: This is a hazelnut noisette, and it is distinctive as it is the only triangular one.

The Purple One: This is a hazelnut in runny caramel wrapped in chocolate. Originally it contained a Brazil nut (hence the shape).

You can access a complete list of all gluten-free products from Nestle here.

Note: According to Nestle: 

At the time of going to press this list is accurate, however our policy of
continuous product improvement may result in changes, so we recommend
you check the label

Nestle produces a number of popular products including Kit-Kat and Rolo which we have also covered here at Gluten Bee.

Quality Street Ingredients

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Cocoa Butter, Sweetened Condensed Skimmed Milk, Cocoa Mass, Vegetable Fats (Palm, Shea, Sunflower, Rapeseed), Dried Whole Milk, Glucose-fructose Syrup, Lactose and Proteins from Whey (from Milk), Whey Powder (from Milk), Coconut, Hazelnuts, Butter (from Milk), Emulsifiers (Sunflower Lecithin, E471), Humectant (Glycerol), Fat-Reduced Cocoa Powder, Butterfat (from Milk), Flavourings, Dried Skimmed Milk, Salt, Lactic Acid, Corn Starch, Raising Agent (Sodium Bicarbonate).

Quality Street Nutritional Facts

Every 100 grams of Quality Street consumed contains 471 calories. 67.4 g of carbs, 3.4g g of protein, 20.4 g of fat and 1.5 g of fiber.

For more information on Quality Street, including a detailed break down of ingredients in each sweet and nutritional facts, check out the Nestle Professional website here.


1 thought on “Are Quality Street Gluten-Free?”

  1. Hello. I am confused. Now i know that quality street is gluten free. But what about Mackintosh quality street? Is it gluten free?
    I also want to know which country product is allowed.. because some are wriiten oroduced in UAEmirates..
    So.. is quality street made in London gluten free? Because i know that nestle is produced in France.can you give me more details..thanks


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.