Are Rolled Oats Gluten Free?

Rolled oats are a lightly processed food that comes from whole grains. From Wikipedia: ‘Traditionally, they are made from oat groats that have been dehusked and steamed, before being rolled into flat flakes under heavy rollers and then stabilized by being lightly toasted.’

People enjoy rolled oats in a lot of ways, such as with baked goods and treats, oatmeal, and more.

Being so common, many people are wondering . . .

Are Rolled Oats Gluten Free?

NO

 

Rolled Oats are a very high risk item for people with Celiac Disease and gluten allergies due to their close proximity to wheat in processing. Unless labeled gluten free, most rolled oats have too much cross contamination to be safe.

To recap, pure rolled oats are gluten free as long as they are not contaminated. However; the most popular brands of rolled oats aren’t typically labeled gluten free, and the cross contamination risks are high.

 

Here are some good gluten free rolled oats:

 

rolled oats gluten

Photo: Markus Spiske

 

Rolled Oats Ingredients

Made from processing oat groats, pure oat.

 

Rolled Oats Nutritional Facts

Oats are nutritious and contain 20% or more of the daily value of B vitamins, thiamine, and other dietary minerals like phosphorus.

A 100g serving of oats (uncooked) contains 379 calories, less than 1g of sugar, 6.5 grams of fat, 13.15 grams of protein, and 10.1 grams of fiber. (source)

1 thought on “Are Rolled Oats Gluten Free?”

  1. Saying rolled oats are not gluten free because of contamination is like saying lettuce is not vegan because the risk of bugs in the leaves are high.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.