Are Smarties Gluten Free?

Smarties are a colourful coated chocolate confectionery that is available in a variety of individual, multi-pack or special occasion formats.

A long-time favourite in many countries including the UK, Germany, Australia, South Africa and Canada. Initially named ‘Chocolate Beans’, the Smarties brand has held a special place in people’s hearts since 1937.

They were originally manufactured by H.I. Rowntree & Company in the UK, and are currently produced by Nestlé.

Are Smarties Chocolate Candies Gluten Free?

Answer: NO

Smarties

Ingredients

Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Skimmed Milk Powder, Cocoa Mass, Lactose and Proteins from Whey (from Milk), Wheat Flour, Butterfat (from Milk), Rice Starch, Emulsifier (Sunflower Lecithin), Fruit and Vegetable Concentrates (Safflower, Radish, Black Carrot, Lemon, Hibiscus), Spirulina Concentrate, Glazing Agents (Carnauba Wax, Beeswax), Natural Vanilla Flavouring, Invert Sugar Syrup

 

Editors Note:

This post was originally wrong and has since been updated thanks to Simone’s comment. We’ve updated this article with the correct information for Smarties chocolate candies popular in the UK, Canada, and Europe, and created a new post about the Smarties sugary tablets, popular in America. We apologize for the confusion.

 

For more information on Smarties, head over to this link: https://www.nestle.co.uk/brands/chocolate_and_confectionery/chocolate/smarties

2 thoughts on “Are Smarties Gluten Free?”

  1. These are not gluten free and have wheat flour as a direct ingredient. The info you provided is from nestles USA site where smarties refers to a tablet like candy known as Rockets in Canada. Canadian smarties, the chocolate kind, are NOT gluten free.

    • Thanks Simone, updated the article to reflect this and added a new article for the USA version of Smarties.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.