Are Smarties Tablet Candies Gluten Free?

Smarties are a sugary tablet candy produced by Smarties Candy Company, formerly known as Ce De Candy Inc. Smarties come in six flavors.

Smarties Flavors

  • White = Orange/Cream
  • Yellow = Pineapple
  • Pink = Cherry
  • Green = Strawberry
  • Purple = Grape
  • Orange = Orange



Titled ‘America’s Favorite Candy Roll’, these sugary tablets are popular in the United States of America. Not to be confused with the Smarties chocolate candies produced by Nestle. Created in 1949 by Edward Dee these candies have since become a staple for sweet treats in the USA. The company states on their FAQs page that they only sell Smarties brand in the United States. In Canada, their Smarties candy is known as Rockets.


Are Smarties Tablet Candies gluten free?

Answer: YES

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:


Photo: Wikimedia

Smarties confirms on their website that:

  • Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from most of the known allergens. All products are free of milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy.
  • Smarties® products are safe to eat for kids with peanut allergies. All of our candy is made in entirely peanut‑free manufacturing facilities.
  • Smarties® are gluten‑free and vegan! You can find more information below.

Read Smarties brand’s entire official allergen statement and info about ingredients, productions, and distribution here.


The ingredients of original Smarties® rolls are: DEXTROSE, CITRIC ACID, CALCIUM STEARATE, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, COLORS (RED 40 LAKE, YELLOW 5 LAKE, YELLOW 6 LAKE, BLUE 2 LAKE). They contain 25 calories per roll. View more info about Smarties on their website.


Editors Note:

View our other article on Smarties to learn about the Smarties chocolate candies popular in the UK, Australia, and Europe.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.