Are Takis Gluten Free?

Takis are spicy corn rolled tortilla chips that are made by Barcel, a division of Grupo Bimbo located in the United States.

Barcel’s product range includes popcorn, candy, nuts, toppings/spreads as well as snacks and chips.

Let’s find out if their top-selling tortilla chips are gluten-free.

 

Are Takis Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO

 

According to Takis, they are “NOT gluten-free” and are made in a facility that may also process wheat.  Takis should, therefore, be avoided if you’re sensitive to gluten, or have been diagnosed with Celiac Disease.

Ingredients: (Takis Fuego flavor)

CORN MASA FLOUR (PROCESSED WITH LIME), VEGETABLE OIL (PALM AND/OR SOYBEAN AND/OR CANOLA OIL AND/OR RICE BRAN OIL ), SEASONING [SALT, MALTODEXTRIN, CITRIC ACID, SUGAR, MONOSODIUM GLUTAMATE, HYDROLYZED SOY PROTEIN, ONION POWDER, YEAST EXTRACT, ARTIFICIAL COLOR (RED 40 LAKE, YELLOW 6 LAKE), NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, BAKING SODA, SOYBEAN OIL, CHILI PEPPER (CHILE), DISODIUM INOSINATE, DISODIUM GUANYLATE, TBHQ (ANTIOXIDANT)].

CONTAINS SOY
MADE IN A FACILITY THAT MAY ALSO USE MILK, EGG, WHEAT AND PEANUTS

 

takis flavors

Photo from: “Takis Review of Three Different Takis Flavors!!!” Video on Youtube

 

If you are looking for a gluten-free tortilla chip, check out the following product reviews:

Takis Flavors

Takis tortilla chips is currently available in 5  distinct flavors, none of which are gluten-free ( all of which must be avoided):

  • Takis Fuego Chips – An intense flavor combination of hot chili pepper and lime.
  • Takis Nitro Chips – One part habanero. One part lime. One part hint of cucumber.
  • Takis Xplosion Chips – The taste of cheese and flavored chili pepper
  • Takis Crunchy Fajita Chips – Spicy intensity rolled into Fajita flavor.
  • Takis Guacamole Flavored Tortilla Chips – An intense rush of guacamole flavor.

For more information on Takis, head over to the Takis section of the Barcel website here: https://barcel-usa.com/takis

2 thoughts on “Are Takis Gluten Free?”

  1. Hi!
    I just have a question regarding the article about Takis. What “gluten-loaded” ingredients are in them? Also, the allergen statement says “made in a facility that may also process wheat”, so if gluten was an ingredient wouldn’t it explicitly say “contains wheat”? I have Celiac and just wanted to know if I am missing something.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.