Are Twiglets Gluten Free?

Twiglets are a wheat-based snack with a “distinctive knobbly shape” similar to that of a small twig. The taste of Twiglets derives from the yeast extract used in its coating, and has been compared to that of Marmite.

Obviously, as a wheat-based snack, I’m sure you can imagine whether or not these crisps are gluten-free.

Twiglets are only currently made in the Original flavour and are available in 45g handy packs, 150g sharing bags, multi-packs and, at Christmas, can be purchased in a Christmas drum (200g).

So are Twiglets crisps gluten-free?

Answer: No

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Original Twiglets

Twiglets are made from wheat and include Barley Yeast Extract which contains Gluten – so if you’re coeliac, steer clear!

Twiglets Ingredients:

Wholewheat Flour (80%), Flavouring [Yeast Extract (Barley), Salt, Vegetable Extract (Carrot)], Vegetable Oils (Sunflower, Palm), Salt, White Pepper

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.