Are Werther’s Originals Gluten Free?

Werther’s Original is a popular brand of caramel flavoured candy. “The classic candy made with real butter and fresh cream”.

It is owned by the German company August Storck KG, which also own and distribute Toffifee, RIESEN and Knoppers.

The candy is popular in Europe and North America. So, let’s find out if it is gluten free . . .

 

Is Werther’s Originals Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES and NO* (see below)

 

The answer varies depending on where in the world you are located. Werther’s Original has not provided a definitive YES/NO answer.

In the UK and Europe Werther’s Original is classified as gluten-free. According to the Werther’s Originals UK websites FAQ section:

All Werther’s Originals are suitable for a gluten free diet. They do include glucose-syrup, which may be derived from a wheat source. The Coeliac Society states that glucose syrup sourced from wheat is suitable for the inclusion in a gluten-free diet.

However, to the legalities, in the USA Werther’s Originals must be stated as not being free of gluten. According to the Werther’s Originals USA website FAQ section:

Are Werther’s Original products Gluten-Free?

No. Although our products do meet the FDA requirements of testing at less than 20 ppm for gluten content, we have chosen not to label our products as “gluten-free” at this time. If you have a gluten allergy, we recommend that you speak to your physician before consuming our product.

If you are extremely sensitive to gluten, it is recommended that you avoid Werther’s Original due to the fact that the glucose syrup does contain wheat which could be detrimental to some celiacs.

Werther's candy bag open

Photo: Wikimedia

 

Ingredients

sugar, glucose syrup, cream (milk)(7.4%), condensed whey (milk), butter (milk)(4.8%), partially inverted refiners syrup, salt, emulsifier: soya lecithin, flavouring.

Nutritional information

Every 3 pieces of Werther’s Original candy consumed contains 70 calories. This consist of 14g carbs, 0g protein, 1.5g fat and 0.60g sodium.

For more information on Werther’s Original, check out one of the following websites:

USA: www.werthers-original.us

UK: www.werthers-original.co.uk

 

See also: Are Tootsie Rolls Gluten-Free?

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.