Are Whoppers Gluten Free?

The Original Malted Milk Ball, produced by Hershey’s, these tasty chocolate treats are popular at movie theaters, on Halloween, and for any time of the year.

Whoppers were first sold under that name in December of 1949 after being reintroduced by a company called Leaf Brands. The original treat was invented by Overland Candy Company and the malted milk candy was initially called Giants.

This popular sugary, malt treat is popular in movie theaters and candy shops around North America and other parts of the world, which is why we decided to ask . . .

 

Are Whoppers Malted Milk Balls Gluten Free?

The answer is: NO

 

Whoppers Malted Milk Balls contain Barley Malt and Wheat Flour, making these sweet chocolate treats NOT gluten free. If you have Celiac Disease or a gluten intolerance/allergy, we recommend avoiding this candy.

If you’re looking for an alternative chocolatey product from Hershey’s you can try Reese’s, because they are gluten free.

Related: Are Maltesers Gluten Free?

 

Original

whoppers malted milk balls

Photo: Hershey

Strawberry Milkshake Whoppers

strawberry milkshake whoppers

Photo: Hershey

 

Ingredients

Sugar; Corn Syrup; Partially Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Whey (Milk); Malted Milk (Barley Malt; Wheat Flour; Milk; Salt; Sodium Bicarbonate); Cocoa; Contains 2% Or Less Of: Resinous Glaze; Sorbitan Tristearate; Soy Lechithin; Salt; Natural And Artificial Flavor; Calcium Carbonate; Tapioca Dextrin.

Contains Milk, Soy, Wheat.

 

View more information, and nutritional facts about Whoppers Malted Milk Balls on the official Hershey’s website: https://www.hersheys.com/whoppers/en_us/products/standard.html

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.