Ballantine’s offers a range award-winning blended Scotch whiskies produced by Pernod Ricard in Dumbarton, Scotland. Currently, Ballantine’s stands as Europe’s top-selling Scotch whisky and is also ranked no.2 worldwide (*IWSR volume 2015).
Ballantine’s may be an incredibly popular whisky, but can it win the status of being a gluten-free alcoholic drink?
Let’s find out:
Is Ballantine’s Whiskey Gluten Free?
The Answer is: YES*
Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:
*According to their own website FAQs, Ballantine’s Whisky is gluten-free. Although whisky is made using cereals (like barley), the gluten protein is removed during the distillation process and cannot be detected in the finished product.
Scotch is malt or grain whisky made entirely in Scotland and split into five distinct categories: single malt, single grain, blended malt, blended grain, and blended whisky.
The Ballantine’s blend is made from malt and grain whisky from the four corners of Scotland. These include Speyside, Islay, Highlands, and Lowlands.
There are 10 main products within the Ballantine’s product range to choose from:
- Finest (original): Slightly sweet with a touch of vanilla
- 12 Years: Creamy with a honey-like sweetness
- Brasil: Refreshing limes and sweet vanilla
- Barrel Smooth: Sweet honey, gentle smoke, and tangy liquorice
- Passion: Fruity sweet and citrus flavours namely Honeydew Melon, Ripe Grapefruit and Kiwi
- Miltonduff: Floral with a subtle hint of cinnamon spice, with gentle liquorice flavours
- Glenburgie: Concentrated fruitiness and honeyed sweetness with aromas of red apples and pears
- Glentauchers: Smooth, soft berry flavours of raspberry and blackcurrant, and barley sugar sweets
- 17 Years: Honey sweetness and vanilla flavours with hints of oak and spicy liquorice
- 21 Years: A smooth balance of rich liquorice and aromatic spice.
For more information on Ballentine’s, head over to the website here: Balentines.com