Bombay Sapphire is a popular dry gin known for its aromatic botanicals. The Bombay Sapphire brand of dry gin was first launched in 1986 by English wine-merchant IDV.
Bombay Sapphire is a popular sight on bars and in homes around the world, instantly recognisable by its flat-sided, sapphire-coloured bottle with a label featuring Queen Victoria.
On the sides of Bombay Sapphire Gin is a list of the famed botanicals used in its production. Outside of this list, though, little information exists on what exactly goes into this famous dry gin.
With the recent resurgence in gin’s popularity, it’s important to know whether this gin & tonic staple is safe for coeliacs to drink.
Is Bombay Sapphire Gluten Free?
The Answer is: YES*
*The distillation process used to produced distilled alcohols like gin removes impurities, such as gluten, from the resulting product. Therefore, there should be no gluten present in Bombay Sapphire Gin.
However, as gin is mostly produced using base alcohol distilled from wheat, then flavoured with botanicals, it could pose a risk for those with severe reactions to gluten exposure.
Bombay Sapphire is flavoured with the following botanical ingredients:
- lemon peel
- juniper berries
- orris root
- grains of paradise
In addition to Bombay Sapphire, there are 2 other variants produced by the company:
Star of Bombay: A Special edition of Bombay Gin. “A new dimension on the original recipe”. The ingredients are solely sourced from Ecuador. And include gently dried bergamot orange peel hand-picked in Calabria.
Bombay Dry: A classic London dry gin that offers a more traditional taste with strong juniper flavors and a powerful dry finish.
Facts About Bombay Sapphire Gin
- The name originates from the popularity of gin in India during the rule by the British Crown on the Indian subcontinent and “Sapphire” refers to the violet-blue gem otherwise known Star of Bombay.
- Over 36 million litres of Bombay Sapphire Gin is sold worldwide every year!