Is Bournville Chocolate Gluten Free?

Bournville is a brand of dark chocolate describes as “an intensely rich aroma and deliciously dark flavour” produced by Cadbury, a subsidiary of Mondelēz International (formerly called Kraft). It is named after the model village of the same name in Birmingham, England and was first sold in 1908.

With over 100 years of chocolate making experience, Bournville brings you generous chunks of smooth dark chocolate with that distinctly chocolaty Bournville taste.

Let’s find out if this 100-year-old chocolate brand is gluten-free…

Is Bournville Chocolate Gluten-Free?

The Anwer is: YES*


Cadbury Bournville Chocolate

Although Bournville chocolate bars do not use any gluten-containing ingredients, they are manufactured in a factory that used gluten-based ingredients that may cause contamination.

Therefore, it may be wise to stay away from Bournville if you have Celiac Disease or a gluten allergy/intolerance!


Sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, vegetable fats (palm, shea), emulsifier (SOYA lecithin).


Nutritional Facts

Source – Each 100 gram serving of Bournville chocolate bars contains around 524 calories. They also contain 4.1g of protein, 60g of carbohydrates, 28g of fat, 6g of fibre, and <0.01g of salt.


2 thoughts on “Is Bournville Chocolate Gluten Free?”

  1. It’s odd you said yes, Bournville chocolate is gf, and then admitted they are run on dirty equipment and could be cross-contaminated. When it’s run on dirty equipment, the answer should not be YES; it should be No gluten ingredients, but run on equipment that processes wheat, and is therefore not truly gf. If you have to have a short answer, it’s NO, not YES.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.