Is Cadbury Milk Tray Gluten Free?

Milk Tray is a brand of boxed chocolates currently manufactured by Cadbury.

Introduced by Cadbury UK in 1915, it is one of the longest-running brands in the confectioner’s portfolio.

Cadbury Milk Tray is sold in Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, New York City, South Africa, and the United Kingdom.

The assortment of chocolates that make up Milk Tray are:

  • Caramel Softy
  • Hazelnut Swirl
  • Surprise Parcel
  • Strawberry Temptation
  • Orange Truffle
  • Salted Caramel Charm
  • Truffle Heart
  • Apple Crunch
  • Fudge Duet
  • Perfect Praline

According to Cadbury:

This much loved brand was launched in 1915 and has subsequently enjoyed its place in the heart of the nation. It has been supported by arguably the most famous advertising character in British TV history, the Milk Tray Man, featured on TV from 1967, making a recent come back in 2016! The advertising strapline ‘All because the lady loves’ remains an iconic cultural reference for the British public.

Let’s find out if this brand of boxed chocolates is gluten free.

Are Cadbury Milk Tray Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES*


Cadbury Milk Tray

*No gluten ingredient can be found on the ingredient list of Milk Tray. So we can assume that none has been added. However, Cadbury claims the products are not tested, so products don’t come with a gluten free claim.


Sugar, vegetable fats (palm, shea, sunflower), cocoa butter, glucose syrup, cocoa mass, skimmed MILK powder, whey permeate powder (from MILK), MILK fat, whey powder (from MILK), invert sugar syrup, HAZELNUTS, emulsifiers (E442, SOYA lecithin, E471, sunflower lecithin), reduced fat cocoa powder, humectant (sorbitol syrup), HAZELNUT paste, whole MILK powder, salt, freeze-dried strawberry powder, flavourings, molasses, sodium carbonate, acidity regulator (citric acid), stabiliser (invertase).

Nutritional Information

Every 100g of Cadbury Milk Tray consumed contains 528 calories. This consists of 64g carbs, 3.8g protein, 15g fat, 3.8g fibre, and 0.32g salt

For more information on Cadbury Milk Tray head over to 

3 thoughts on “Is Cadbury Milk Tray Gluten Free?”

  1. Glucose syrup is listed as an ingredient on Cadbury’s Milk Tray. This can be derived from wheat or corn and some coeliacs (myself included 🙁 ) are sensitive to it.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.