What is a Low FODMAP Diet?

What is a Low FODMAP Diet?

Have you ever heard someone mention the word FODMAP or low FODMAP diet to you?

If you experience recurrent bloating, gas and cramps, diarrhea and constipation, or other gastrointestinal symptoms after eating, a low-FODMAP diet may be worth looking into. This diet is designed to help people with IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) and other stomach irritations, to have far less symptoms and a more enjoyable life.

The term FODMAP is an acronym, derived from “Fermentable, Oligo-, Di-, Mono-saccharides And Polyols”. FODMAPs are short chain carbohydrates that humans have trouble digesting in the small intestine.

Read moreWhat is a Low FODMAP Diet?

What to do After Accidental Gluten Exposure

What to do After Accidental Gluten Exposure

If you’re allergic to gluten or have Celiac Disease, getting exposed to gluten can be devastating. The pain and symptoms can last for many days and it can be very disruptive to your life and work.

However; there are a few things you can do to combat the pain and ease the symptoms a bit.

In this post I’m going to share common remedies and other ways to feel better when suffering from accidental gluten exposure. I’ll share a combination of my own personal recommendations and tips from medical sources that I’ve tried too.

I hope this article can be a helpful guide to you if you had the unfortune of eating some gluten, so you can feel better soon and get back to life! Find out what to do if you’ve been glutened.

Read moreWhat to do After Accidental Gluten Exposure

How to Go Gluten Free

How to Go Gluten Free

Not so long ago, gluten-free diets were uncommon and considered restrictive. This has changed significantly, as more people are diagnosed with gluten intolerances, allergies, and diseases like celiac disease, making it imperative to cut gluten out of the diet.

Apart from intolerances, allergies, and diseases, some people may choose to go gluten-free for many health benefits. A gluten-free diet can help reduce inflammation, ease digestive issues, give you more energy, and help you lose weight.

It can be daunting if you’ve recently been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity or would like to live a gluten-free lifestyle. There are lots of gluten-free products on the market, and they may be more expensive, but the benefits are well worth it. If you have Celiac, your safety depends on it!

Let’s look at some easy switches you can make in your gluten-free journey. Learn how to go gluten free!

Read moreHow to Go Gluten Free

is olive oil gluten free

Is Olive Oil Gluten Free?

Olive oil is commonly found at Mediterranean restaurants, with Italian food, and so much more. It is popular all over the world and is used in a lot of meals and dressings.

What is Olive Oil?

Olive oil is made from the oils and liquid fats of olives. The process involved pressing whole olives to extract the pure oil.  Olive trees are common in the Mediterranean Basin, and beyond. They have been grown around the Mediterranean since the 8th millennium BC.(source)

Read moreIs Olive Oil Gluten Free?

Is Orgeat Gluten Free?

Is Orgeat Gluten Free?

Have you ever been at a restaurant and saw the ingredient, orgeat or orgeat Syrup, in a cocktail or drink? If you have, you may be wondering, what is that?

What is Orgeat?

Orgeat is a sweet syrup used in drinks, cocktails, and other products. Most notably, orgeat is a key ingredient in many Tiki drinks including Mai Tais.

Read moreIs Orgeat Gluten Free?

Is Miso Soup Gluten Free?

Lately Miso soup has received more interest, growing in search popularity dramatically. Largely driven by social media trends on TikTok and other apps. Because of this, we decided it’s be a great time to cover this soup.

What is Miso?

Miso soup is a traditional Japanese soup made from dashi stock and miso paste. Also called Omiotsuke (御味御付), Miso soup is served with many optional ingredients such as various vegetables, depending on the region it is made in, or the season.

Being so popular, many people are wondering . . .

Read moreIs Miso Soup Gluten Free?

Are Rolled Oats Gluten Free?

Are Rolled Oats Gluten Free?

Rolled oats are a lightly processed food that comes from whole grains. From Wikipedia: ‘Traditionally, they are made from oat groats that have been dehusked and steamed, before being rolled into flat flakes under heavy rollers and then stabilized by being lightly toasted.’

People enjoy rolled oats in a lot of ways, such as with baked goods and treats, oatmeal, and more.

Being so common, many people are wondering . . .

Read moreAre Rolled Oats Gluten Free?

Is Glucose Syrup Gluten Free?

Is Glucose Syrup Gluten Free?

Glucose Syrup is a common ingredient found in a lot of processed foods, candies, chocolates, prepared meals, and other products from the store.

What is Glucose Syrup?

Glucose Syrup is a syrup made from the starch of corn, potatoes, wheat, or less often barley, rice, and cassava. Also known as confectioner’s glucose, this syrup is used to thicken and sweeten food products. It’s often an additive ingredient, and is very similar to other syrups like high fructose corn syrup.

Being so commonly used in food and drink products by thousands of brands, many people are wondering . . .

Read moreIs Glucose Syrup Gluten Free?