Are Cheerios Gluten Free?

Cheerios are an iconic brand of breakfast cereal that has become a family favorite. It is owned by General Mills who declare Cheerios as “wholesome goodness” that is “perfect for toddlers to adults and everyone in-between”. General Mills is also known for another popular brand of cereal, Lucky Charms.

Cheerios is a healthy breakfast and snack item that brings the benefits of wholesome oats, low sugar, and essential vitamins and minerals into your diet.

But is this healthy breakfast option gluten-free.

Let’s find out.

Are Cheerios Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: Unsure*



*Updated September 2021: Because of multiple comments from users stating they had a reaction to Cheerios, we’ve updated our answer to Unsure. These are not certified gluten free and unfortunately too many people with severe allergies or Celiac Disease have reported problems and reactions.

Here is Cheerios’ statement on gluten free:

We know that lots of different families want to enjoy Cheerios together. That’s why we worked hard to remove stray wheat, rye, and barley grains from our oat supply. Now Cheerios still have the same great taste, but they’re also gluten-free.


Cheerios Product Gluten-Free List

  • Cheerios Originals
  • Apple Cinnamon Cheerios
  • Cheerios Peach
  • Chocolate Cheerios
  • Frosted Cheerios
  • Fruity Cheerios
  • Honey Nut Cheerios
  • Multi-Grain Cheerios
  • Very Berry Cheerios


Non-Gluten Free Cheerios Product List

The following Cheerios products must be avoided. They contain wheat and are not gluten-free:

  • Cheerios Ancient Grains
  • Cheerios Protein Cinnamon Almond
  • Cheerios Protein Oats and Honey 
  • Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch

Cheerios Originals Ingredients

Whole Grain Oats, Corn Starch, Sugar, Salt, Tripotassium Phosphate. Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness.

Vitamins and Minerals

Calcium Carbonate, Iron and Zinc (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin A (palmitate), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

For more information on Cheerios and to get access to the nutrition facts of each product, head over to the official website here:

7 thoughts on “Are Cheerios Gluten Free?”

  1. I m son is celiac. I thought Cheerios was gluten free. I read many mixed articles . So confused .any clarification will help.ty

    • Hi Kristen, from experience I have had some mixed reactions with Cheerios, and other cereals labeled gluten free by the manufacturer. Another recent experience was with Lucky Charms. Both cereals I avoid because I can’t tell if they are truly gf. On the other side, both Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles are labeled gluten free by the manufacturer and I have had no reactions from those. I think it depends on the person/products.

      • Cheerios is NOT gluten free. My boyfriend and I both have Celiac disease and have been getting “glutened” minutes after eating a bowl for breakfast. The last box I bought a few weeks ago, Honey Nut Cheerios, has consistently made us both sick.

    • I have celiacs and was so excited when Cheerios was announced and advertised as gluten free. I stopped eating them and stuck with Chex for a long time. Now when I research Cheerios I see they had voluntarily removed the gluten free label because of Health Canada and The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA. I had started back eating them before I found this info out, I have no reaction from them but I’m confused whether they are safe or not as I can’t see if there is gluten causing damage or not.

    • Cheerios are NOT gluten free. I believed the label on the package. Big mistake. I ate one bowl yesterday, 8/30/2021, and had a severe reaction to gluten. More than 24 hours later I am still sick. Nasty brain fog, nausea, diarrhea, sore joints, headache–the works. Cheerios may be safe for the “gluten-free by choice” crowd, but not for people like me who have celiac disease.

  2. I have celiac disease and have been able to enjoy Cheerios for years but the last 2 boxes have given me diarrhea and listlessness. I thought it must be something else like the milk so I had my Cheerios dry and was sick again. Today I had my gluten free oat meal and was fine. Being a celiac is a constant chore to read all the labels and research even the products that claim to be gluten free. as in my case, when you find something that works, you want to hang on to it, even if your body says NO!

    • Hi Scott, thanks for your comment! I’m so sorry you have been sick from these, unfortunately that was the case for me when I tried them a few years back as well. It really is a constant chore and I can totally relate.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.