Is Cointreau Gluten Free?

Cointreau is a French drink that also is classified as a triple sec liqueur. It was originally called Curaçao Blanco Triple Sec.

It has been enjoyed by millions of people worldwide for decades and is firmly established as a stylish drink for different occasions.

Millions of people enjoy this popular drink for its unique fruity tangy taste. Cointreau is firmly established as a stylish drink for different occasions and can be taken straight or with a mixer. One of the most popular ways to enjoy Cointreau is as part of a cocktail, most commonly in a margarita.

However, is this alcoholic liqueur gluten-free?

Is Cointreau Gluten-Free?

The answer is: YES*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Cointreau Orange Liquor

*Cointreau does not contain any wheat, oat, rye or barley (or tannines, yeast, corn or nut).

It is a variety of Curaçao liqueur, an orange-flavored liqueur made from ingredients that include dried peels of bitter and sweet oranges.

Cointreau is more typically used as an ingredient in a variety of cocktails, such as sangria, margarita, Kamikaze, White Lady, Long Island Iced Tea, Sidecar, Skittle Bomb, Corpse Reviver and Cosmopolitan.

There are currently 3 products that make up the Cointreau brand:

  • Cointreau
  • Cointreau Noir
  • Cointreau Blood Orange

And, Yes all the above are gluten-free. You can find out more here:

Facts about Triple Sec

  1. Cointreau Distillery was set up in 1849 by Adolphe Cointreau, a confectioner, and his brother Edouard-Jean Cointreau.
  2. The first bottles of Cointreau were sold in 1875.
  3. An estimated 13 million bottles are sold each year, in more than 150 countries. Ninety percent of production is exported.
  4. Cointreau & Cie SA was family-owned until 1990 when it merged with Rémy Martin to form Rémy Cointreau, now a publicly-traded company

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.