Is Crabbie’s Ginger Beer Gluten Free?

Crabbie’s is a Scottish brand of alcoholic ginger beer with 5.0% alcohol by volume. The roots of the distinctive Crabbie’s Alcoholic Ginger Beer date back to 1801.

Crabbies is a carbonated beverage but is not brewed. It is based on a ginger steep, which takes up to six weeks to produce, and contains four secret ingredients.

Crabbie’s is typically served over ice or chilled.

Let’s find out if this Scottish brand of alcoholic ginger beer.

Is Crabbie’s Ginger Beer Gluten Free?

The Answer is: YES/NO*


*Updated September 2020: Crabbie’s in the UK and Europe is gluten free, Crabbie’s in the United States is a malt beverage which contains Barley. Therefore if you are in Europe or the UK, as other readers have commented, this ginger beer is safe to consume. However; if you are in the US, Crabbie’s likely contains gluten and is not safe to consume. More information in this forum post.

It must, therefore, be avoided. Alternatives like a gluten free cider might be a better option.


crabbies ginger beer

Photo: Crabbie’s website



Crabbie’s Original Alcoholic Ginger Beer
Crabbie’s Raspberry Alcoholic Ginger Beer


Nutritional Information

Every 500ml consumed contains 255 calories. This consist of 35g carbs, 0g protein and 0g fat – source

For more information on Crabbie’s Ginger Beer including a list of recipes, head over the official website here:

Looking for a gluten-free alcoholic beverage? Head over to the gluten free alcoholic list here.

4 thoughts on “Is Crabbie’s Ginger Beer Gluten Free?”

    • This is incorrect. Crabbie’s literally states it’s gluten free on the (cropped out) label. We have enjoyed it with exactly zero issues.

  1. Ginger beer is not supposed to be beer at all. It is not supposed to contain wheat, barley or anything remotely gluten-containing. So, I don’t understand why the author of the post is stating this.
    Crabbies should be technically gluten-free (not only low in gluten like some beers), but really gluten-free like all “alcoholic ginger beers”.

    • Because it states barley on the ingredients list but also says gluten free on the label. If has barley can’t be gluten free as they say it is


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.