Five Guys Gluten Free Menu Items and Options

Five Guys is a popular fast-casual restaurant known for its delicious hamburgers and fresh-cut fries. Founded in 1986 by the Murrell family in Arlington, Virginia, Five Guys has grown into a well-loved franchise with locations throughout the United States and worldwide. There are over 1,700 locations worldwide.

When it comes to the food, Five Guys is renowned for its high-quality ingredients and customizable menu options. The star of the show is their burgers, which are made from 100% fresh ground beef, never frozen. Customers have the freedom to customize their burger with a wide variety of toppings, including lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, onions, and a selection of sauces. The patties are cooked to perfection, offering a juicy and flavorful experience with every bite. And the portions of fries are truly epic!

Let’s find out if this popular burger chain has gluten free options…

Related: Whataburger Gluten Free Menu Items and Options

What is gluten free at Five Guys?

In this article and guide, we’ll highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, and other gf options available at Five Guys.

The company shares the following allergy warning on their allergen PDF:

Five Guys Enterprises makes every attempt to identify ingredients which may cause allergic reactions for those with food allergies. Every effort is made to instruct our food production staff on the severity of food allergies. However, there is always a risk of contamination. There is a possibility that manufacturers of foods we use could change the formulation at any time, without notice. There is also a risk of cross contamination due to the nature of our ingredients. Customers concerned with food allergies need to be aware of this risk. Five Guys Enterprises and their franchisees will not assume any liability for adverse reactions to foods consumed, or items one may come into contact with while eating at any Five Guys restaurant.

Nutritional information provided on this site is based on representative values provided by suppliers, published resources, analysis using industry standard software and testing conducted in accredited laboratories. Information is expressed in values based on federal rounding and other applicable regulations. Five Guys cannot guarantee the nutritional information provided on this site is fully accurate as it relates to t he prepared menu items in all of our restaurants. Our menu items are made to order by hand. This may cause slight variations in serving sizes which may affect the nutrition values for each product.


Five Guys Gluten Free Menu

These are all the gluten free options we could find at Five Guys. Note all items listed below do not contain wheat or gluten, based on information we found from their nutrition and allergen PDF.

Notice anything missing or incorrect? Leave a comment below. This article was last updated: June 7, 2023



These are all of the meat options at Five Guys that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.

  • Bacon
  • Hamburger Patty
  • Hot Dog



These are all of the topping options at Five Guys that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.

  • A.1. Original Steak Sauce
  • BBQ Sauce
  • Cheese
  • Green Peppers
  • Grilled Mushrooms
  • Hot Sauce
  • Jalapeño Peppers
  • Ketchup
  • Lettuce
  • Mayonnaise
  • Mustard
  • Onions / Grilled Onions
  • Pickles
  • Relish
  • Tomatoes



Unfortunately Five Guys does not have any gluten free buns. But you can get your burger wrapped in lettuce!



These are all of the fry options at Five Guys that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.

  • Little Five Guys Style
  • Regular Five Guys Style
  • Large Five Guys Style
  • Little Cajun Style
  • Regular Cajun Style
  • Large Cajun Style



These are all of the milkshake options at Five Guys that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.

  • Vanilla Shake Base

Toppings and Mix-Ins

  • Whipped Cream
  • Bacon
  • Banana
  • Chocolate
  • Oreo Creme
  • Peanut Butter
  • Salted Caramel
  • Strawberry


Other Items

These are all of the other options at Five Guys that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.

  • Bulk Peanuts
  • Fry Sauce
  • Eggs



These are all of the drink options at Five Guys that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.

  • Coca-Cola Freestyle Machines (100s of soda combinations)


five guys fries

Photo: Five Guys Facebook page


Items to Avoid at Five Guys

  • The malt vinegar contains wheat/gluten.
  • The oreo cookie pieces and reese’s for the shakes both are listed as containing wheat/gluten.
  • Certain toppings, especially condiments like mayo or pickles/relish may have a higher risk for cross-contact.


Summary of Gluten Free Menu Options at Five Guys

Pro tips and a quick summary of everything gluten free at Five Guys.

  1. When you order at the restaurant or online/in the app for delivery/pickup, tell them you have an allergy or Celiac Disease so they take precautions with your food.
  2. Five Guys has virtually all the same options for people with or without a gluten allergy. Just avoid the buns and the malt vinegar sauce, along with the oreo/reese’s toppings in the shakes.
  3. Five Guys has a 4.5 star rating on Find Me Gluten Free with over 500+ ratings. It is one of the highest rated chains on FMGF! The fryer is dedicated for just the fries, the burgers are cooked on a separate surface from the buns, and customers also report loving the allergy friendly staff.
  4. Personal experiences here are pretty good! I’ve been to Five Guys a number of times and enjoy their burgers. The only real downside is the cost. In my opinion, it’s a bit overpriced for not including a gf bun!


five guys lettuce wrapped burger for people who are gluten free

Photo: Five Guys Facebook page


More Information about Five Guys

Looking for additional information about Five Guys, their foods, and nutritional/ingredients facts? Here are some resources we’ve found:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.