Golden Wonder is a British company that manufactures potato-based snacks and is most known for its popular brand of crisps that go by the same name.
Whilst almost everyone knows of Golden Wonder, not as many are aware that the company was born almost 70 years ago in Stockbridge, Edinburgh when local baker, William Alexander started making crisps in the afternoon once he’d finished baking for the day. In a moment of inspiration he decided to name his new crisps after the Golden Wonder potato variety – and the rest is history as they say…
Golden Wonder Crisps are available in a large selection of flavors.
Let’s find out it this popular British brand of crisps is gluten-free.
Are Golden Wonder Crisps Gluten Free?
The Answer is: YES*
All Golden Wonder Crisps flavours are made with the key ingredient, potato, and do not list wheat as an allergen, except for the *Tomato Ketchup* flavour, which contains wheat flour. None of the Golden Wonder Crisps products are labeled as gluten free, but aside from the Golden Wonder Crisps Tomato Ketchup flavour, the rest should be safe to consume for Coeliacs. The crisps contain simple ingredients primarily potatoes, salt, and sunflower oil. Some are vegan, but not all. Check each flavor here to view full ingredients, allergens, and whether or not they are vegan: https://www.goldenwonder.com/golden-wonder-crisps/
Golden Wonder Crisps Flavours
- Ready Salted
- Salt & Vinegar
- Sausage & Tomato
- Cheese & Onion
- Smoky Bacon
- *Tomato Ketchup* (NOT GLUTEN FREE)
- Spring Onion
- Pickled Onion
- Prawn Cocktail
Photo: Golden Wonder
- Sour Cream & Onion
- Sea Salt
- Salt & Vinegar
Related: Are Wotsits Gluten Free?
Golden Wonder Ready Salted Ingredients
Potatoes, Sunflower Oil, British Salt
Each 32.5g pack of Golden Wonder Ready Salted consumed consists of 175 calories. This consists of 17.2g carbs, 1.8g protein, 10.8g fat, 1.0g fiber, and 0.46g fat.
For more information on Golden Wonder, head over to the official website here: www.goldenwonder.com