Hooters is a popular chicken wing bar and grill restaurant chain. Now the chain has hundreds of locations all over the world.
The first Hooters opened October 4, 1983, in Clearwater, Florida. The Original Six founders were quickly detained for impersonating restaurateurs, but fortunately for America, they were soon allowed to go about their business. During its history, the Hooters concept has remained true to its roots. The current logo, uniform, menu and ambiance are all very similar to what existed in the original store. The casual beach-themed establishments feature music, sports on large flat screens, and a menu that includes seafood, sandwiches, burgers, salads, and of course, Hooters original chicken wings. Others have arrived, departed, and even flat out copied our formula, but we remain the genuine original. (source)
Let’s find out if this popular wing chain has gluten free options…
Related: Buffalo Wild Wings Gluten Free Menu Items and Options
What is gluten free at Hooters?
In this article and guide, we’ll highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, and other gf options available at Hooters.
The company shares the following allergy warning on their website.
All fried ingredients are cooked in shared fryers and maybe exposed to all allergens/animal products. For this reason, guests with food allergies should avoid fried items.
Hooters Gluten Free Menu
These are all the gluten free options we could find at Hooters. Note all items listed below do not contain wheat or gluten, based on information we found from their Nutritional Info PDF. We also found information in this Nutritional Menu PDF.
Notice anything missing or incorrect? Leave a comment below. This article was last updated: April 24, 2023
Appetizers
Unfortunately, all of Hooters’ appetizers contain wheat/gluten.
Wings
These are all of the wing options at Hooters that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Smoked Wings
- Roasted Wings
Burgers
Unfortunately, all of Hooters’ burgers contain wheat/gluten. You may be able to get a burger without the bun, but there is no way to ensure the safety of this for people with Celiac Disease or an allergy to gluten.
Sandwiches and Tacos
Unfortunately, all of Hooters’ sandwiches and tacos contain wheat/gluten.
Seafood
These are all of the seafood options at Hooters that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Steamed Shrimp
- Alaskan Snow Crab Legs
Salads
Unfortunately, all of Hooters’ salads contain wheat/gluten.
Fries and Sides
These are all of the side options at Hooters that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Celery
- Bacon
Sauces
These are all of the sauce options at Hooters that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients. We found limited information about the wing sauces and dry rubs unfortunately. You’ll need to confirm with the staff at a restaurant.
- Ranch
- Bleu Cheese
Dressings
- Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinaigrette
Desserts
Unfortunately, all of Hooters’ desserts contain wheat/gluten.
Beverages
These are all of the beverage options at Hooters that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Pepsi
- Diet Pepsi
- Mug Root Beer
- Mountain Dew
- Sierra Mist
- Red Bull
- Red Bull Sugar Free
- Red Bull Tropical
- Red Bull Orange
- Sweet Tea
- Iced Tea
- Blackberry Iced Tea
- Mango Iced Tea
- Passion Fruit Tea
- Lemonade
- Blackberry Lemonade
- Mango Lemonade
- Passion Fruit Lemonade
- Milk
Alcohol
These are all of the alcoholic beverage options at Hooters that are free from wheat/gluten ingredients.
- Angry Orchard Crisp Apple Cider
- Margaritas
- Wine
- Sangria
- Various Shots/Hard Liquor Types
Photo: Hooters Facebook page
Items to Avoid at Hooters
- Unfortunately all of the naked wings are considered gluten containing, so this just limits you to the smoked or roasted wings.
- Sauce ingredients are not specified so be careful and ask staff!
- Very few of the sides are gluten free outside of the celery and bacon.
Summary of Gluten Free Menu Options at Hooters
Pro tips and a quick summary of everything gluten free at Hooters
- When you order at the restaurant or online/in the app for delivery/pickup, tell them you have an allergy or Celiac Disease so they take precautions with your food.
- Hooters has very limited food options. Proceed at your own caution if you have a severe allergy, because they do not seem equipped for gluten free preparations. You can get the smoked wings, and a few sauces, drinks, etc.
- Hooters has limited reviews on Find Me Gluten Free, but some people mentioned having a decent experience depending on where they were. Some people even mentioned that they have a separate fryer for the naked wings, and they didn’t have a reaction. But we cannot recommend this for all stores. It is important to ask staff, and if there is someone who understands the allergy at that location, they may have more information for you.
- Personal experiences here are unknown, but I will update this post if I ever get to try the limited options available at Hooters for people allergic to gluten.
Photo: Hooters Facebook page
More Information about Hooters
Looking for additional information about Hooters, their foods, and nutritional/ingredients facts? Here are some resources we’ve found:
- Official Hooters Menu: https://www.hooters.com/menu
- Official Hooters Nutritional Menu: https://www.hooters.com/perch/resources/content/hoot-5690nutritional-menu-update.pdf
- Official Hooters Nutritional Information: https://hooters.com/perch/resources/content/hooters-additional-nutrition-information.pdf
Wow looks like hooters are not accommodating to celiac and it’s horrible seeing its its not a choice , millions of people have this health issue
Yes, I agree! They could be way more accommodating. Thanks for your comment Martine.