Basics Food Health Infographics Lifestyle

[Infographic] The Mysterious Science of Gluten

Mysterious Science of Gluten Infographic

Gluten. What is it? Where does it come from? How does it affect you?

These are some questions you may ask yourself if you’ve had digestive problems in the past.

Get to know the science of gluten and Celiac Disease with this infographic from Retrofit.




mysterious science of gluten infographic

 

Types of Gluten

Gluten is a protein that is primarily found in these grains:

  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Oats*

* Pure oats that are not contaminated with any wheat/barley/rye byproducts may be safe to consume in small quantities, but you should consult with a physical before hand if you have a serious allergy to gluten.

 

Other Foods to Avoid

Wheat and gluten byproducts can be found in a lot of food and ingredients out there today. You have to stay vigilant to avoid getting accidentally glutened!

Here are some additional forms of wheat and other products/ingredients to avoid:

  • Spelt / Durum
  • Farina / Semolina
  • Matzo
  • Couscous / Orzo
  • Malt Syrup / Malt Extract / Malt Flavoring
  • Soy Sauce, Teriyaki Sauce, and Hoisin Sauce
  • Licorice and many Gummy Candies (with wheat based products)
  • Beer (find gluten free beer here)

 

Safe Foods for a Gluten Free Diet

There are many safe foods for a gluten free diet, including new companies with specialty gluten free products! However; here is a list of some staples to keep in mind for a gluten free diet.

  • Fresh Fruits / Vegetables
  • Corn
  • Potatoes
  • Nuts / Seeds
  • Rice / Quinoa
  • Beans
  • Meat / Fish
  • Eggs
You may also like
Belvedere Vodka
Is Belvedere Vodka Gluten Free?
A roundup of seven great gluten free hoisin sauce recipes and more.
7 Great Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce Recipes to Try

Leave Your Comment

Your Comment*

Your Name*
Your Webpage

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.