Is 5th Avenue Candy Bar Gluten Free?

The 5th Avenue is a candy bar consisting of peanut butter crunch layers coated in milk chocolate. It is produced and marketed by The Hershey Company.

The Hershey Company also produce and market well-known brands such as Kisses, Reese’s, Kit Kat®, Rolo and Payday plus much, much more.

The bars are named after New York City’s stylish Fifth Avenue. The original bars contained a crunchy peanut butter center, topped with toasted almonds and coated in milk chocolate.

Let’s find out if this stylish candy bar is gluten-free . . .


Is 5th Avenue Candy Bar Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: NO


According to the, 5th Avenue is likely to contain gluten. Although the ingredients list doesn’t include any of the key gluten-containing ingredients such as:

  • wheat
  • rye
  • barley
  • spelt
  • kamut
  • triticale
  • farina
  • vital gluten semolina
  • malt vinegar

There is a small chance that it could be manufactured in a facility that processes and handles gluten ingredients. It should, therefore, be avoided. For further clarification, contact The Hershey Company. Hershey’s also does NOT include 5th Avenue on their gluten free list, so we recommend avoiding this candy bar if you are allergic to gluten or have Celiac Disease.


5th avenue candy bar

Photo: Hershey’s


Sugar, Peanuts, Corn Syrup, Vegetable Oil, Cocoa Butter, Palm Kernel Oil, Palm Oil, Shea Oil, Sunflower Oil, Safflower Oil, Molasses, Chocolate

Contains 2% or Less of: Milk, Cocoa, Whey, Lactose, Milk Fat, Nonfat Milk, Salt, Lecithin, PGPR (EMULSIFIER), Artificial Flavor, TBHQ (PRESERVATIVE), Sulfur Dioxide (TO MAINTAIN FRESHNESS)


Nutritional Information

Each bar contains 260 calories and consists of 38g carbs, 4g protein, and 12g fat – source

For more information on 5th Avenue, nutritional information and more check out this web page:


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.