Alcohol Lifestyle

Is Amstel Beer Gluten Free?

Is Amstel Beer Gluten Free?

Amstel Beer ( also know as Amstel Bier )  was founded and produced in Dutch brewery founded in 1870 on the Mauritskade in Amsterdam, Netherlands. It then changed hands and is now owned, produced and distributed by the parent company Heineken International who also own well-known brands such as Heineken Beer, Desperados, and Sol.

Amstel is ‘’the world’s most local beer’’ is now available in over 100 countries and is a proud sponsor of the UEFA Europa League.

Let’s find out if this popular dutch beer is gluten-free . .

 

Is Amstel Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO

 

Most beer is usually not gluten-free and Amstel beer is no different.

According to the Amstel website, “Amstel® is brewed with malted barley which contains gluten”.

Amstel Beer should, therefore, be avoided if you are sensitive to gluten or have been diagnosed with any form of Celiac Disease.

The Amstel Beer Collection

Amstel currently produces 5 beers, none of which are gluten-free:

  • Amstel Lager

  • Amstel Premium Pilsner

  • Amstel Light

  • Amstel Bright

  • Amstel Radler

amstel bier brand

Photo: Wikimedia

 

Amstel Beer Ingredients

Water, Malted Barley, Sugar, Hop Extract

Amstel Beer Nutritional Information

Amstel has an alcohol content (ABV) of 4.1%. A pint contains 2.3 UK alcohol units and 176 calories, which is equivalent to 31 calories per 100ml. Every 100ml consists of 1.8g of carbs, 0g of protein, and 0.01g salt.

 

SEE ALSO – Gluten Free Alcohol List

You may also like
Difference Between Coeliac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity
Gluten Intolerance or Coeliac Disease: What’s the Difference?
Why Coealics Should Listen To Their Bodies
Why All Coeliacs Need To Listen To Their Bodies

Leave Your Comment

Your Comment*

Your Name*
Your Webpage

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.