Is Bisto Gravy Gluten Free?

Bisto is a well-known brand of traditional British foods in the United Kingdom, most famous for its gravy products. The brand is owned and distributed by Premier Foods who also manages a number of food brands including:

  • Angel Delight
  • Homepride
  • Mr Kipling
  • OXO

According to Premier Foods, the company behind Bisto; “Bisto has been a part of family mealtimes since 1908. A taste of home for all occasions, we’ve been there for celebratory roasts, comforting midweek meals and always for Sunday lunch.  –source

 

Are Bisto Gravy Granules and Sauces Gluten Free?

The Answer is: NO*

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

No, Bisto Gravy is NOT gluten-free.

A key ingredient used to make Bisto Gravy Granules is Wheat Flour. Wheat is a grain that is loaded with gluten. Therefore we can safely say that Bisto Gravy Granules must be avoided if you are gluten intolerant or suffer from any form of coeliac disease.

That being said, you can now find Bisto Gluten Free Gravy Granules in some major supermarkets in the UK.

*Update: Bisto Gluten Free Gravy Granules are now available

bisto gravy gluten free

Bisto Favourites Gluten Free Gravy Granules featured on their website – Bisto.co.uk

 

Ingredients

Potato Starch, Maltodextrin, Palm Oil, Salt, Wheat Flour (with added Calcium, Iron, Niacin, Thiamin), Colour (E150c), Sugar, Flavourings (contain Barley), Flavour Enhancers (E621, E635), Emulsifier (E322) (contains Soya)

Flavours: Chicken, Onion, Turkey and Vegetable.

For more information on Bisto and to check out the other products in the range, go to www.bisto.co.uk.

2 thoughts on “Is Bisto Gravy Gluten Free?”

  1. I started eating bisto gluten-free and kept getting a reaction. I have since found out it contain maltodextrin which is made from starch that in Europe is generally derived from Wheat. So be aware bisto gluten free is not wheat free.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.