Boba, another name for Bubble Tea, is a popular drink that originated in Taiwan in the early 1980s. Since then it has exploded in popularity and can be found all over the world.
What is Boba?
Goba Tea does a great job describing it on their article:
‘When someone says ‘Boba tea’, they are referencing a traditionally cold-served beverage that has a tea base, a milk or fruit flavor, and edible pearls (the ‘boba’ in boba tea) inside a cup.
Boba tea has many aliases which tends to confuse the heck out of people. You may have heard one or many of these phrases used, but you should know they all mean the same thing: bubble tea, pearl tea, bubble milk tea, boba, boba fruit tea or tapioca tea.
Boba Tea has become increasingly popular over the past few years. This is in large part due to the new and unique consumption experience of having tasty edible pearls in a beverage!’
Let’s see if boba contains any wheat/gluten ingredients. We’ll find out below . . .
Related question: Are Hops Gluten Free?
Is Boba Gluten Free?
Yes, for the most part, boba or bubble tea, is gluten free and safe for people with Celiac Disease and/or a gluten allergy.
Typically the main ingredients are: Tapioca, milk, creamer, brewed tea, sugar, flavorings
Tapioca is a starch extracted from the cassava plant and is gluten free.
*The only thing you have to look out for with Boba, and any Bubble Tea, is additive ingredients. If the drink you are looking at has certain toppings or fillings, add-ons, etc. these may contain gluten. Typically, traditional boba tea ingredients are gluten free though.
We recommend always asking the location or store you are at if the drinks are gluten free.
Various Names for Boba
- Bubble Tea
- Boba Tea
- Bubble Milk Tea
- Fruit Tea
Ingredients for boba/bubble tea can vary but typically they are: tapioca, milk, creamer, brewed tea, sugar, flavorings (source)
Boba Nutrition Facts
Serv. Size: 1 cup or 152 g, Amount Per Serving: Calories 544, Total Fat 0g, Sat. Fat 0g, Cholesterol 0mg, Sodium 2mg, Potassium 17mg, Total Carb. 135g, Sugars 5g, Protein 0.3g.
Learn more about tapioca pearls (Boba) nutrition here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tapioca_pearls
- Wikipedia – Bubble Tea – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bubble_tea
- Wikipedia – Tapioca Pearls – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tapioca_pearls
- Goba Tea – What is Boba Tea? – https://www.gobatea.com/blogs/news/what-is-boba-tea
So is bubble tea gluten free after all? Yes, we are happy to say that it is! Enjoy. 🙂