Is Bovril Gluten Free?

Bovril is the trademarked name of a thick and salty meat extract paste similar to a yeast extract. According to Bovril “It is the original Beef hot drink that has been keeping Britain’s Chin up since 1886”.

It is sold in a distinctive, bulbous jar, and also as cubes and granules. Bovril is owned and distributed by Unilever UK.

Today, Bovril is as popular as ever, providing three and a half million jars of strength every year  – source.

Bovril Beef is really versatile and can be used to make drinks, used as a spread or used for additional flavouring in cooking.

Let’s find out it is gluten-free.

Is Bovril Meat Extract Paste Gluten-Free?

The Answer is: NO

NO Bovril is NOT gluten-free because it contains all of the main ingredients that contain the protein gluten. These are Barley, Wheat, and Rye.

It is there safe to conclude that Bovril must be avoided if you are gluten intolerant or suffer from any form of Celiac Disease.

 

bovril on bread

Photo: Wikimedia

 

Ingredients

Beef Broth (50%) [Water, Beef Bones], Yeast Extract (27%) [contains Barley, Wheat, Oats, Rye], Salt, Water, Colour (Ammonia Caramel), Corn Starch, Beef Powder (1%), Flavour Enhancers (Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate), Acid (Lactic Acid), Flavourings (contain Celery)

Nutritional Facts

Each teaspoon contains 25 calories. This consist of 0.3g fat, 560mg sodium, 1.6g carbs and 4.4g protein –  Source

For more information on Bovril, head over to this page on the Uniliver website: https://www.unilever.co.uk/brands/food-and-drink/bovril.html

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.