Is Carlsberg Gluten Free?

Carlsberg (named after Jacobsen’s son Carl) is owned and distributed by Carlsberg A/S, a global brewer that was founded in 1847. They are also known for brewing well know beverages such as Tuborg, Kronenbourg, and Somersby Cider.

This global giant employs more than 41,000 people and operations in three markets: Northern and Western Europe, Eastern Europe and Asia.

Carlsberg is “in pursuit of better. And not just better beer… a better future for all of us”.

Let’s find out if this statement is true and if they have considered the growing gluten-free community.

Is Carlsberg Beer Gluten-Free?

The Answer: NO

Recommended Gluten Free Cook Books:

Carlsberg Danish Pilsner is brewed with malted barley, which naturally contains gluten.

It should, therefore, be avoided if you are sensitive to gluten or have been diagnosed with any form of Celiac Disease.

Carlsberg Beer Products

Carlsberg makes a number of products, beers, and ale none of which are gluten-free. Here is a list of the current selection:

  • Danish Pilsner

  • Unfiltered

  • 1883

  • 0.0 Alcohol Free

  • Special Brew

  • Elephant Strong

  • Smooth Draught

  • Smooth Lager

  • Sort Guld

  • Export

  • Nordic

  • Nordic Ale

  • HOF Organic

carlsberg beer

Photo: Carlsberg


Carlsberg Beer Ingredients

water, barley malt, rice, hops, and yeast.

Carlsberg Beer Nutritional Facts

Every 100ml of Carlsberg Danish Pilsner Beer is a 5% abv. This consist of 45 calories of which  2.5g carbs, <0.5g protein, 0g sugar, and 0g fats – source

For more information on Carlsberg, head over to their official website here.

Read next: Is Amstel Beer Gluten Free?

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.