Chocolate Liquor is a common ingredient in a wide range of baked goods, hot chocolates, chocolate syrups and bars, and other foods/drinks like coffee or even alcohol!
What is Chocolate Liquor?
Chocolate liquor is made from ground up cacao beans. It’s also commonly called baking chocolate or cocoa liquor/cocoa mass.
In this article, we’re going to determine if chocolate liquor is free from all wheat and gluten ingredients, and safe for people with a gluten allergy or Celiac Disease! Keep reading to also see our warning about Chocolate Liqueur, which is not the same as Chocolate Liquor, and actually contains alcohol.
Is Chocolate Liquor Gluten Free?
Yes, true chocolate liquor is gluten free because it is purely made from cacao beans that are ground up and liquified. It’s also vegan and dairy free! Read more cool facts about chocolate liquor in this excellent article from Dame Cacao.
* Warning *
Is Chocolate Liqueur Gluten Free Too?
Chocolate Liqueur is not the same as Chocolate Liquor. Chocolate Liqueur is an alcoholic beverage made from chocolate that may contain wheat/gluten ingredients depending on how it was made/processed. Be sure not to confuse these!
Photo: Heather Barnes
Chocolate Liquor Ingredients
Ground up cacao beans.
Chocolate Liquor Nutritional Facts
From Dame Cacao: ‘Pure chocolate liquor is quite good for you. It’s produced straight from the cocoa bean, which contains high amounts of fiber, protein, and mostly healthy fats. It also includes significant concentrations of magnesium, zinc, and heart-healthy antioxidants.’
1 thought on “Is Chocolate Liquor Gluten Free?”
Are Doulton Irish whiskey & cream liqueur chocolates gluten free