Corona Beer (Extra) is a popular pale lager beer produced in Mexico by Cervecería Modelo and Constellation Brands. Corona is owned by Grupo Modelo and Anheuser-Busch InBev.
You can find Corona Beer at almost every liquor store and bar, so many people are wondering:
Is Corona Gluten Free?
The answer is: NO
According to Corona’s FAQs on their website: ‘There isn’t an accepted methodology for testing gluten content in fermented beverages, so we cannot provide an accurate amount of gluten in our beers. There are traces of gluten in all our beers. We recommend that you consult your physician regarding consumption.’
If you are Celiac or gluten intolerant, it is most likely not safe for you to drink Corona beers. Corona states, ‘we recommend that you consult your physician regarding consumption’ on their website FAQs.
Here are screenshots from the research found on Wayback Machine that was done by the Swedish National Food Agency. One thing to keep in mind is that these tests were done in October of 2005 so the research may not be accurate today, over 12 years later. Another thing to keep in mind is that the beer tested was produced by Cerveceria Modelo, Mexico so the same information may not apply to Corona that is produced by Constellation Brands and exported to the United States.
If you are unsure, it is still recommended by Corona that you consult your physician.
The Gluten Free Alcohol List
Featuring gluten free vodkas, whiskey, gin, tequila, beers, hard ciders, and more. View the Gluten Free Alcohol List here.
SEE ALSO – Is Jose Cuervo Gluten Free?
Looking for more gluten free ideas and products? Check these articles out:
- Tips for Eating Out Gluten Free
- 7 Gluten Free Brands Changing the Food Industry
- 11 Easy Gluten Free Dinner Ideas
- The Rise of Gluten Free Products [INFOGRAPHIC]