Is Cotton Candy Gluten Free?

Cotton Candy is a popular sugary treat that is commonly found at carnivals, fairs, parades, sports events, and beyond. It’s also sometimes called sugar floss or candy floss, and you can find cotton candy around the world. It’s one of the most popular confections.

Let’s find out if cotton candy is usually free from wheat and gluten ingredients . . .

Is Cotton Candy Gluten Free?



For the most part, Cotton Candy is gluten free because it is made up of sugar and food colorings. *However; cross-contamination and shared food spaces are a major risk in certain environments, especially places where cotton candy may be served like fairs and carnivals.

For packaged cotton candy, you can find plenty of brands that are labeled gluten free. Fluffy Stuff, from Tootsie, is a popular brand of packaged cotton candy that is shown with a gluten free label.

If you’re going to an event and see cotton candy, try to ask the staff/vendor what ingredients they use, so you can confirm it is safe! Generally speaking, cotton candy is a safe treat for people looking to avoid gluten.


cotton candy making


Cotton Candy Ingredients

Product: Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy from Tootsie

Sugar, Artificial and Natural Flavors, Artificial Colors (Including FD&C Red 40, Blue 1), Turmeric Coloring.


Cotton Candy Nutrition Facts

Product: Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy from Tootsie

Serv. Size: (71g), Amount Per Serving: Calories 270, Total Fat 0g, Sodium 0mg, Total Carb. 71g, Sugars 71g, Protein 0g.


Learn more interesting facts about Cotton Candy on Wikipedia:

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.