Crispix is a brand of breakfast cereal that is own, manufactured and distributed by Kellogg’s.
Kellogg’s are well known for their cereals, most notably Kellogg’s Corn Flakes and Rice Krispies.
Crispix is described as having “Crispy rice on one side. Crunchy corn on the other.”
Let’s find out if this hexagon-shaped breakfast cereal is gluten free.
Is Crispix Gluten Free?
The Answer is: NO
Crispix contains barley malt, which is loaded with gluten. If you’re sensitive to gluten or have been diagnosed with Celiac Disease; we would recommend not consuming Crispex. Although it is only a small amount of malt flavor, made from barley – it must be avoided at all costs. See this article from Kellogg’s ‘Open for Breakfast’ website to learn more about which cereals contain barley.
Rice, milled corn, sugar, contains 2% or less of salt, molasses, brown rice syrup, baking soda, turmeric extract color. vitamins and minerals: iron (ferric phosphate), niacinamide, vitamin b6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin b2 (riboflavin), vitamin b1 (thiamin hydrochloride), folic acid, vitamin d3. vitamin b12.
Photo: Kellogg’s website
A 39g serving of Crispix with 3/4 cup of skimmed milk contains 43g of carbs, 9g of protein, 14g sugar, and 0.33g salt.
For more information on Crispix, check out the official Kelloggs website here: https://www.kelloggs.com/en_US/products/kellogg-s-crispix-cereal-product.html
7 thoughts on “Is Crispix Gluten Free?”
The ingredients you have listed here, and the ones on the box do not mention barley malt. I am confused.
Hey Gavin, thanks for the comment. We will add the source to the main article, but you can read more on Kellogg’s site here: http://www.openforbreakfast.com/en_US/content/nutrition/kelloggs-gluten-free-options.html#:~:text=Corn%20Flakes%C2%AE%2C%20Rice%20Krispies,barley%20and%20may%20contain%20gluten.
It’s at the bottom where they mention the barley in Crispix, Corn Flakes, and other Kellogg’s cereals.
Why don’t they list it on the box?
Not sure Su. I just took another look at Special K’s site though, and this is a recent article they’ve shared: https://www.kelloggs.com/en_US/nutrition/are-rice-krispies-gluten-free.html
It looks like the only confirmed gluten free products they offer are:
• Bear Naked bars and granola
• Kashi bars, cereals, waffles, and cereals
• Special K Chewy Nut bars
As a celiac / coeliac, it’s very frustrating – there’s a massive market that currently General Mills are consuming all by themselves. I grew up eating Kellogg’s cereals back when the UK’s Coeliac Society listed Rice Krispies, Corn Flakes, Crunchy Nut Cornflakes, and lots of other Barley Malt Extract-containing products, as gluten free. And I miss them.
Perhaps this information is a bit outdated? I’m guessing they changed their recipe cause the box I’m looking at plainly lists, “rice, milled corn, sugar, molasses, brown rice syrup, baking soda, turmeric extract color.”
If anything, cross-contamination would have seemed the most striking issue.
That is the point of a lot of our replies. It contains gluten through the barley malt extract that the product does contain, but it is not listed on the ingredients panel. In the EU, it is law that all allergens must be listed, but in the USA, there is no such law, and the label only needs to show ingredients that make up a particular proportion of the overall product. Barley is also not considered an allergen in the USA, despite it being a major source of gluten as per the FDA’s food labelling guidelines (see page 23: https://www.fda.gov/files/food/published/Food-Labeling-Guide-%28PDF%29.pdf)