Crown Royal is a blended Canadian whiskey and is the top-selling Canadian whiskey in the United States.
With a wide range of over 12 different flavors to choose from, it’s no wonder that this is the No.1 Whisky in North America. However, is it ideal and gluten-free?
Let’s find out “Is Crown Royal made from wheat?”
Is Crown Royal Whiskey Gluten-Free?
The Answer is: NO*
*Crown Royal is made of corn and barley. While the distillation process can potentially remove the gluten content, because the original ingredients include barley, we cannot determine this to be safe for people with Celiac and gluten allergies.
Although whiskeys are derived from wheat, barley, or rye, the distilling process removes the gluten proteins.
With that said, many people with celiac disease choose to avoid alcohol distilled from gluten-including grains, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
When in doubt, choose a gluten-free alternative such as Rum, Brandy, Tequila, Applejack, most Gin, Vodka, almost all Wine, Hard Cider, and Sorghum beer and Ale.
SEE ALSO – Gluten Free Alcohol List
Crown Royal Whiskey
The wide product range of whiskey created by Crown Royal and broken down into 4 series are as follows:
- Blenders’ Mash
- White Barrel Finish
- Salted Caramel
- XR (red)
For more information on Crown Royal. Head over to their website: https://www.crownroyal.com
Facts Crown Royal
- Crown Royal is produced solely at the company’s distillery at Gimli, on the shores of Lake Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.
- Crown Royal was introduced in 1939 by Samuel Bronfman, president of Seagram, as a tribute to the royal visit of King George VI and his wife, Queen Elizabeth, the first of a reigning monarch to Canada.
- Crown Royal was available only in Canada until 1964 when it was introduced to the United States in the 1960s.
- Jim Murray’s “Whisky Bible” named Crown Royal’s Northern Harvest Rye as the World Whisky of the Year for 2016.