Crunchie is a brand of chocolate bar with a honeycomb toffee sugar centre. It is made by Cadbury and was originally launched in the UK by J. S. Fry & Sons in 1929.
Based on a traditional cinder-toffee style snack, Crunchies get their name from being a brittle & crunchy chocolate snack bar.
They’re a popular snack throughout Great Britain, as well as many other countries around the world, but can they be enjoyed by Coeliacs?
Let’s find out:
Is Cadbury Crunchie Gluten Free?
The Answer is: YES*
*The brittle crunchiness of a Crunchies bar could trick you into thinking these tasty snacks were made with biscuit or wafer centres. In fact, the crunchy centre of a Crunchie bar is made from honeycomb, toffee & sugar.
Furthermore, the Cadbury website states that Crunchie does not contain any wheat or gluten-containing ingredients. We can, therefore, confirm that it is gluten-free.
However, one thing to note is that Crunchie may be made in an environment where other gluten products are produced, which means there is the possibility for cross-contamination.
With that said, many people with celiac disease consume wheat free products from the Cadbury’s range of chocolates without any side effects.
Sugar, glucose syrup, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, skimmed MILK powder, whey permeate powder (from MILK), palm oil, MILK fat, emulsifier (E442), flavourings, coconut oil.
Source – Each 40g bar of Crunchie contains around 186 calories. They also contain 3.1g of protein, 74g of carbohydrates, 17g of fat, 1.3g of fibre, and 0.72g of Sodium.
For more information on Cadbury Crunchie and other products from Cadburys, check out their website here: https://www.cadbury.co.uk
7 thoughts on “Is Crunchie Gluten Free?”
this is fully incorrect, all cadbury chocolate contains gluten, it legit says so on the packaging. false info
Curious where you got that info from? It says the ingredients right on Cadbury and there is no mention of gluten.
If you go to the Cadbury web site and look at allergens, there chocolate says may contain wheat! So not gluten free!
This is most likely because the facility is not dedicated gluten free however they do not purposefully use gluten ingredients in this chocolate bar. Cross contamination is, however, possible.
Crunchies are NOT GLUTEN FREE. READ THE CADBURY WEBSITE. Please stop putting up false information. People with severe allergies do not need to be mislead by I accurate information.
DO NOT EAT IF ALERGIC TO GLUTEN
Hi Tracey, which Cadbury website are you talking about, can you send the link?
It says right here that Crunchie only contains Milk allergens. Not sure why you are claiming we are misleading people when we are just sharing our research from other websites such as Cadbury.co.uk themselves…
Cadbury NOT GLUTEN FREE.
I have celiacs and am.sick of misinformation. I end up in hospital because people are giving information that is incorrect